It Means More

28 May

I may have mentioned before that I was a military kid.  My dad served in the Air Force and my family lived in a variety of places, including some foreign countries.  I have two sisters and we were all born outside of the United States.  I’m proud of our military heritage and especially proud of my dad for serving.

I also have numerous family members who have served or are currently serving in the U.S. Armed Forces and the pride I feel extends to all of them.  Military life demands a lot of its servicemen and women, and their families.  The sacrifices are great, sometimes too great.  That’s why we have a day like Memorial Day where we pause to reflect on and remember those who gave their lives serving our country.

source: thinkstockphotos.com

My Uncle Charlie is one of those who lost his life fighting in WWII.  He left in 1942 to go fight in the war and he was only 23 when he died in battle.  His body is laid to rest at the Epinal American Cemetery in Epinal, France.  His mother didn’t get the opportunity to bury her son.

My dad lost his brother.  My uncle and our family lost the possibility of what could have been.  But we are not alone.  So many families have experienced the same type of painful loss.

Today means more than barbecues and picnics.  More than a day of boating on the lake with friends.  More than a day off from work.  It means thousands of men and women have given their lives in an attempt to preserve our freedom, our rights, and our security.

Today is not about politics or who’s right and who’s wrong.  It’s not about whether you believe in war, past or present.  It’s about people with a job to do who went to work one day and were required to make the ultimate sacrifice.

Today, I’m remembering the uncle I never knew, saying a prayer of gratitude for the gift he gave, and praying for the safety of all of those serving in the United States Armed Forces.  I hope you will join me.

♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “It Means More”

  1. Susan May 28, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Nice post. I would like to extend that to all men and women wherever they serve. I served in the RAF in England and still have friends there, and sons and daughters of friends there that are serving all over the world.

    • rachturner May 29, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      You are absolutely right, Susan! We have to remember all those who serve their countries. That’s so cool that you served in the RAF!

Leave a Reply

