Thank You Thursday

24 May

Jon Gordon is the author of such books as The Seed, Training Camp, and The No Complaining Rule.  If you want to make positive change in your life, Jon Gordon provides encouragement and suggestions to help you make that happen.

One way he believes we can make positive change in our own life and the lives of those around us is to express appreciation to those who have had a positive impact on us – those on your team at work, members of your family, people you encounter on a regular basis – so he came up with Thank You Thursday.  The idea behind Thank You Thursday is this:

Every Thursday, take an intentional moment to acknowledge those who you are thankful for.  Send an email, post a note on Facebook, send them a message on Twitter, give them a call, stop by their desk, etc.  Simply take the time to thank those who have impacted you in big or small ways. – Jon Gordon

So, because it’s Thursday and because I have A LOT to be thankful for, I thought I would use this space today to thank someone for their influence and impact in my life.

That someone would be YOU.  If you are reading this, THANK YOU!  You have blessed me in more ways than you know.

I started this blog as a way to chronicle my experience with cancer treatment and keep friends and family updated.  Since my first treatment on August 10, 2011 I’ve been posting something each weekday and you guys have been responding in such encouraging ways.  I can’t thank you enough!!

Through this little blog, I’ve been encouraged by friends, had funny little conversations with my sisters, reassured my parents that I am, in fact, ok (physically, if not mentally!  ha ha!!), made some wonderful new friends, and reconnected with old friends.  (Old as in we’ve-been-friends-for-a-long-time kind of friends, not that they are old people.  Well, many of them are my age, so I guess that does make them old people!  {grin} )

I never imagined that, through a simple blog, I would be spurred-on by other cancer patients living all over the world – in places like Canada, the UK, and even Australia, but it has happened.  I never imagined that something I would write might encourage someone else going through something similar, but that has happened, too.  I am so grateful!

Thank you for reading every day or every week or every now and then.  I cherish every single visit.

Thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts with me and connecting me to your blogs.  I love getting to reconnect with friends or “meet” new ones and share in your life experiences.

Thank you for inspiring me to live better, be positive, do more, try harder, and never, ever give up.

Thank you for surprising me.  On the days I think what I’ve written is boring or won’t have much meaning, someone always tells me how much it meant to them or that it was just what they needed to hear.

Thank you for encouraging me through your emails, phone calls, text messages, comments here on the blog, and face-to-face conversations.  I hope you get the occasional encouragement, maybe a little entertainment, and that I don’t bore you too often.

Just simply, thank you!

So….  Who are YOU going to thank today?

If there is someone (or maybe many someones) in your life who has impacted you in a positive way, feel free to use this platform to tell the world (ok, world is a wee bit of an exaggeration, but you know what I mean!) how much you appreciate him/her and why they mean so much to you.  Maybe it’s your mom or your husband or your best friend, but you know there is someone who needs to know how much they mean to you.  If you don’t want to share it here, be sure to tell them.  Your words might be exactly what they need to hear today.

Love you guys!
♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “Thank You Thursday”

  1. The Savvy Sister May 24, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Gratitude is such an important character! “Thank you” for everything you do!

    • rachturner May 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Thank you for reading, Susan! You inspire me. :)

  2. Nancy Arrighi May 24, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    I want to thank you for your blog. You really have a gift in writing. Even though I am cured of my cancer, the cancer changes you and you think about it every day. Your blog has helped me look at things in a new perspective. Thank you again for sharing your gift!

    • rachturner May 24, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      Nancy – you are absolutely right, cancer changes you and it’s always in your mind. Thank you so much for your kind words!!

  3. Susan May 24, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Thank YOU Rachel!

  4. Laura Allen May 24, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Rachel, I really want to Thank-you for the positive impact on so many people. You are like a sweet wonderful friend that I can drink my coffee or tea with every weekday that puts focus on the positive instead of negative what ifs, that is why I look forward to what you have to say each morning. ALWAYS HOPE, Laura

    • rachturner May 24, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Thank you so much, Laura! I am so glad to have connected with you. You are an inspiration to ME!

  5. Jennifer May 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Rach – Thanks for being an inspiration to so many through this ordeal. I do not believe that I could be as brave and as positive as you have been. You are are my shining star and my favorite little sister!
    I love you.
    Jennifer

    • rachturner May 24, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Jenn – You crack me up! I’m your ONLY little sister, so I better be your favorite. :) You are in the perfect position to say I’m your favorite little sis and Kathy’s your favorite big sis. You would be brave – you don’t know how not to be. Courage is such a natural part of who you are that you don’t recognize it.

Leave a Reply

