Darkest Before Dawn

23 May

I burned my arm Sunday.  It’s nothing serious and just a small burn, but still…a burn.

I was cooking lunch (a rare event, indeed) and – instead of pulling the rack out to place the potatoes on it for baking – I foolishly thought I could stick my arm in between the racks to place one of the potatoes near the back of the oven.  My arm hit the rack and I heard a split second sizzle before I jerked my arm away.  The redness was immediately evident.

I rubbed an ice cube on it to stop the burning and the sting, and then I watched as it turned red, then redder, and then purple.  Wow.  That’s impressive!

Fortunately, the ice cube helped to numb the area so that I didn’t really feel any pain.  But the damage was already done.  I had a nice one-inch long, narrow burn mark in the shape of, well, the edge of an oven rack on my forearm.

The next morning, I was applying some antibiotic ointment to it and noticed the skin was already forming a blister and will most likely peel before it heals.  It’s a pretty ugly sight – not large or really even noticeable, but ugly for sure.

Then, I started thinking about how the burn on my arm is representative of so many things in our lives in that often have to get worse before they get better.  Whether we are talking about physical, emotional, or spiritual issues, we have to endure the healing process before we can be healed.

The darkest hour is just before the dawn.
– Thomas Fuller

Take cancer for example.  The diagnosis is bad.  It’s earth-shaking.  In one instant, your world goes dark.

You know treatment is not going to be fun, but it is necessary.  You know it’s going to require a lot of you – possibly the most effort you’ve had to give to anything.  You know you are going to go through some days that make you question your ability to handle this and maybe even your faith in God.

While this isn’t the case for everyone, I didn’t feel sick before being diagnosed with cancer.  I felt fine.  Actually, I felt great.  But I knew I was going to have to feel bad before I could get well.

The same can be said of many other difficult situations.  If you are going through a divorce, it may feel like the toughest days are behind you, but I assure you there are some humdingers ahead.  If you’re child is approaching their teen years, brace yourself – the road is going to get a lot bumpier before things smooth out.  If you’ve recently lost a spouse or someone whom you love dearly, the shock of their loss is incredibly painful, but that first year can be brutal.

Sometimes things have to get worse before they can get better.  But they will get better.  It may be dark for a while, but dawn will come.

Have faith.  Hold on.  Trust.  It will happen.

We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed;
we are perplexed, but not in despair;
persecuted, but not forsaken;
cast down, but not destroyed.
2 Corinthians 4:8-9 

And don’t bake potatoes in the oven; use the microwave.  ;)

Have a wonderful day!
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Darkest Before Dawn”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography May 23, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    Those burns can be nasty. Love how you tied in the burn incident with life’s other situations. HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY, & take care of that burn. :)

  2. Sheila White May 23, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Great post, loved it.

  3. Cara Olsen May 24, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your burn, Rachel. I pray it heals quickly. What you were able to do, however, in the face of the injury, taking something painful and essentially “bad,” and turning into Good, was a pleasure to behold.

    You share Good news with us, faithful steward, and we are blessed by it!
    ~ Cara

    • rachturner May 24, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      Thanks, Cara! It wasn’t too painful, just a little ugly. :)

Leave a Reply

