A Weekend in Atlanta

7 May

Yesterday was a yucky day.  I woke up with a headache that only got worse as the day progressed.  I ended up taking my migraine medicine and a long nap.  Woke up and still had it, but – thankfully – it eased up around 5:00 pm.  I hate those things and am SO grateful I do not get them as often as I used to.  Headaches are evil.  :)

Barry and I went to the Chick-fil-A Leadercast in Atlanta this weekend.  It’s a one-day conference on leadership and some of the speakers this year were Andy Stanley, John Maxwell, Urban Meyer, Soledad O’Brien, Patrick Lencioni, Marcus Buckingham, and Tim Tebow.  This year’s theme was Choice, specifically how we can “make choices that strengthen our family, impact our workplace, influence our communities, and leave the world a better place.”  Sounds like something we would all like to do, right?

I’m a quotes gal.  I love a good quote.  I have a journal filled with some of my favorite quotes and a page on this site with some of my favs, too.  The speakers at the Leadercast were excellent and gave some great nuggets to think about.  Because my brain is still a little fuzzy from the migraine meds, I thought I would share some of the best quotes from the event:

If we have to know without a doubt that the choices we are making are the perfect ones, we risk never making any choices at all. – Marcus Buckingham (I’m pretty sure he was speaking directly to me when he said this.  Never mind the other 4,999 people in the room.)

If everything is important, then nothing is. – Patrick Lencioni

We all know of people who thought they could do it (whatever “it” is) tomorrow.  We have all procrastinated in such a way, and often to our personal regret… So often that better time either never comes or really isn’t better or more appropriate after all. – Tim Tebow (Procrastination brought on by my want-to-be-perfectionist tendencies is an issue for me so this hit home.)

We don’t grow on accident; we grow on purpose. – John Maxwell

Don’t worry about what you can’t control. We can control our attitude, effort, how we treat others – that’s what we should worry about. – Tim Tebow
Most of us say our family is the most important thing in our life, yet we spend most of our time planning, strategizing, etc. at work and not at home. You need to put the same effort into your family that you give to your job. – Patrick Lencioni (Ouch, right??)

The highlight of the day was when they brought out a girl with a life-threatening illness whose wish has been to meet Tim Tebow and surprised her with his appearance!  She was overjoyed!  Say what you want about Tim, he’s the real deal – he’s not faking it, the guy’s as genuine as they come and such a great role model for kids (and some adults!).

While, I’m thinking about – we stayed at the Courtyard Atlanta Downtown on Carnegie Way.  It was a great hotel, the price was extremely reasonable, the staff was friendly, and room was fabulous.  The room was larger than my first apartment.  :)  I would highly recommend it if you need a room near the Georgia World Congress anytime soon.

Have a great Monday!
♥ Rachel

8 Responses to “A Weekend in Atlanta”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography May 7, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    “If everything is important, then nothing is”….love that quote :) Hope your headache is long gone now. You have a super day.

    • rachturner May 8, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Isn’t that a great quote, Daphne. I’ve not heard it put like that before, but it’s the honest truth!

  2. mainelyhopeful May 7, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Migraines are the worse. Glad you were able to enjoy part of the weekend and attend your conference.

  3. Cara Olsen May 7, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    So sorry yesterday was a yucky day, Rachel. I hope today continues to be much better for you. These are wonderful quotes, and like yourself I really do love reading words of inspiration and encouragement from people who have been there in my situation or circumstance. Thank you for sharing your favorites with us!

    Blessings,
    Cara

    • rachturner May 8, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks, Cara! Feeling much better. :)

  4. Carina May 10, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Love the quotes!
    Ouch on the migraine. You are still lucky you hardly get it. I hate headaches. It is one thing I cannot ignore and tune out with, say, reading a book.

    • rachturner May 10, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      I know, right? You can’t think when your head hurts. So glad they do not come around often. :) Hope you are well, Carina.

Leave a Reply

