Random Brain Activity

2 May

My brain was a random mess yesterday.  Like a big ‘ole pile of spaghetti squash, my thoughts were all jumbled.  I’ve been trying to solve a technical problem at work and it has me so pre-occupied I can’t concentrate on anything else for very long without my thoughts wandering back to the thing I can’t get to work the way it is supposed to work.

Because my thoughts are such a wild, out-of-control, random mess, I though today’s post should be just as random.  If you’re going to take the time to read my blog, I want you to get the FULL experience.  :)  I don’t want you to miss out on anything around here.  So, welcome to a post where each thought is not related to the previous or next thought!

Speaking of spaghetti squash – have you eaten it before?  Do you like it?  I want to try it, but am not sure of the best way to fix it.

Did you know that the two highest paid doctors are radiologists and orthopedic surgeons?  I knew orthopedic docs make a ton of money.  I’m certain my husband and his parents – with eight joint replacements between the three of them – have put our orthopedic doc’s children through college.  Radiologists surprised me, although I can certainly understand it because they have to be very skilled and highly trained.  Which reminds me, I need to introduce you to a very special radiologist friend who helped me a lot during my testing and diagnosis days.  But that is a post for another day.  (See, I told you my thoughts are all over the place!)

Facebook now makes it possible for you to indicate on your Life Events timeline that you are an organ donor and gives you the opportunity to share that with your friends, which will hopefully encourage others to become organ donors, too.  There are 114,000 people in the United States who are waiting on an organ donation.  Each donor has the potential to save 7 lives.  Amazing.  To learn more about this new Facebook feature, go here.

My favorite song of the moment is Rascal Flatts “Changed.”  I love virtually every song by Rascal Flatts.  I think that’s because when Barry and I started dating, he introduced me to their music.  They had two hits that played often – Praying for Daylight and Everyday Love – and when I hear them it takes me back to those days of new love and all that is good and right with the world.  :)  Anyway, back to Changed.  It’s good.  Really good.  And their faith is woven all through it, which makes me love it even more.  This is not the official video (obviously) because I don’t think they’ve released an official video yet, but it will let you hear the song if you haven’t heard it already.  Love it!

{If you are reading this in email, you may need to hop over to my blog to watch the video.}

And lastly, here’s a new pic of little Pumpkin head.  He hasn’t made an appearance here in a while, so I thought you guys might like to see what he’s been up to.  As you can see, he’s up to the same thing he’s always up to – lying around.  He’s very good at that.

Have a lovely day!!
Rachel

10 Responses to “Random Brain Activity”

  1. Susan May 2, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I was laying in bed this morning my head full of random thoughts and I thought, instead of laying here I should get up and write them down. Behold! I open my email and there is a new Rachel blog and I laughed as you did exactly what I said I was going to do! I am inspired!

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography May 2, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Loved your blog today. Somedays I feel as if my blog is a jumbled mess of thoughts too. I like Rascal Flatts “My Wish”….my wish for you is that life becomes all that you want it to. Your dreams stay big and your worries stay small. you never need to carry more than you can hold.” Have an awesome day my blogging friend :)

    • rachturner May 6, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Love that song, too, Daphne. Such beautiful words.

  3. Cara Olsen May 2, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Love your randomness, and I should day my brain works like this normally — should I be concerned? ;) Oh, and Pumpkin head is adorable!

  4. Simply Tia May 2, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    I’ve never had spaghetti squash.
    I’m an organ donor (but I’m off FB so I can’t advertise it). Off to look at the video. I’ve never heard of the group but they sound promising.

    • rachturner May 6, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Tia – YOU’VE never had spaghetti squash?? Being the fabulous chef that you are, I’m shocked! :)

      • Simply Tia May 8, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

        Hahaha. You’d be really shocked to see the list of all the things I have never eaten. Poor me.

        I’ve had summer squash before. I like that. Will seek out spaghetti squash and add to my list of “things to do/try before 2012 is out”. That and quinoa.

        Thanks Rachel.

  5. Betty Johnson May 3, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Hi Rachel,

    I thoroughly understand randomness. I thought it was my age, but guess it can happen at any time. I have been trying to install a MagicJackPlus on my very old computer and it has been giving me fits. I have to step away every once in a while to do something else then get back to it. I ordered this about a month ago and here is a comment abou this product:

    “I have never seen a simpler to use product. You simply plug it into your computer, plug in your phone, and start calling. The call quality is perfect… this device is so simple my grandmother could install one on her PC and begin….”

    Well, I have a 4 year old grandson who would probably get better results with this than I have.

    By the way, I like the photo of your cat. I have one (Mia, a calico) that does exactly the same thing Pumpkin Head does everyday.

    Hope you will have a blessed day as you have certainly put a smile on my face today.

    • rachturner May 6, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Hey Betty – Yes, let the 4 year old try to install it. Kids are amazing with technology! :)

Leave a Reply

