The Struggle of Waiting

1 May

Many of you reading this are in a difficult place right now. For some of you, it involves a cancer diagnosis for yourself or someone you love. For others, it might be a different kind of serious health concern, worries about your financial situation, the fear of losing a parent who is slowly slipping away from you, or any number of other things that occupy your thoughts and distract you from life.

One of the most frustrating themes during a time like this is the waiting.

  • Waiting on a diagnosis.
  • Waiting to start treatment.
  • Waiting on healing.
  • Waiting on a job.
  • Waiting on resolution.
  • Waiting on an answer.
  • Just waiting.

And we don’t like to wait, do we?

Waiting requires patience because so many times the things we are waiting on are beyond our control. When I was diagnosed with cancer, we waited almost four months from the first biopsy to the day I received the official, confirmed diagnosis and started treatment. It was excruciating. I’ll be the first to admit, my normal, daily supply of patience is usually a little lower than it should be, so it’s a miracle I made it through those four months with my sanity.  (Or maybe I didn’t – that’s still yet to be determined!  ha ha!!)

One of the ways I learned to counteract all of the emotions that were stirred up during that season of waiting was to trust God. This was an active trust, not just a philosophical idea where I say I trust God.  I really had to trust Him.  I had to trust that God was who He says He is, that He would do what He says He will do, and that I am always in His care.

That kind of trust does not come easy to a control freak, so I had to surround myself with tools and resources that would remind me trust.  One of the best resources (in addition to my Bible) is a tiny little book by Charles Swindoll called Perfect Trust.  A sweet friend gave this book to me more than 12 years ago.  I have read it so often during these twelves years that the pages are falling out of it.

One of my favorite passages from the book is where Charles Swindoll quotes Andrew Murray’s approach to trust:

First, He brought me here, it is by His will I am in this straight place: in that fact I will rest.

Next, He will keep me here in His love, and give me the grace to behave as His child.

Then, He will make the trial a blessing, teaching me lessons He intends for me to learn, and working in me the grace He means to bestow.

Last, in His good time, He can bring me out again – how and when, He knows.

Sometimes the worry, impatience, frustration, and fear that come during waiting periods can cloud the truth that is buried in my soul.  But deep down in my heart, I trust God.  I believe in Him and I believe Him.  That’s where my trust comes from.

Have a beautiful day.
♥ Rachel

3 Responses to “The Struggle of Waiting”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography May 1, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Thanks Rachel, I so needed this today :) Have a wonderful day!

  2. createdtobebeautiful May 1, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Absolutely!! Oh how I have been waiting… and waiting… and waiting. When my husband left me, almost 3 years ago, I didn’t think I would make it through the night… and I knew there was no way I would be able to endure a week. Here I am three years later and all I can say is “Wow, God… You are awesome! Thank you!!”.

    I have never been a patient person, so God decided to teach me patience. I lost everything that year, including my home, my husband, my future, my dreams… but God has taken me on a journey with Him that has resulted in such blessings, rewards, peace and gratefulness!

    Yes… I am still waiting for so, so many answered prayers and fulfilled promises from God, including my husband. However, I have learned to enjoy the journey and not only be content in the “waiting”, but joyful.

    Thank you for your beautiful words and reminder today… you put a big ol’ smile on my face!!

    Much love and prayers to you,

    Tara :)

    • rachturner May 6, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Tara – I really don’t even have words adequate to describe how inspiring you are. I am so glad I could make you smile. Hope you have a beautiful day!!

Leave a Reply

