Headed to Chemo Today

27 Apr

It’s that time again.  It seems hard to believe, but it’s been eight weeks since my last maintenance chemo treatment.  This morning, I’m going for #2.  Only 10 more to go!  Hmmm….maybe I won’t think about it that way.  :)

This is me after the past couple of weeks:

source: pinterest

I’ve had such a tough, crazy-busy two weeks that I think I’m actually looking forward to today.  Is that bad??  :)  Chemo drugs aside, it will be nice to sit in that recliner for a few hours with nothing that I have to do other than just be there!  Ha ha!!

Yesterday was interesting – anytime my thoughts wandered forward to today and treatment, I got cold chills and goose bumps.  Funny how we can have such strong physiological reactions to negative experiences so that even the anticipation of it or thinking about it can create a physical response.  Fortunately, today’s treatment shouldn’t be very negative.  It’s just Rituxan, which is the more friendly drug of the two I received during my initial treatment.  It shouldn’t make me sick – just fatigued thru the weekend.  It’s definitely nothing to complain about.

Happy Friday, friends! Hope you have a beautiful day and a blessed weekend.
♥ Rachel

12 Responses to “Headed to Chemo Today”

  1. Becky Robinson April 27, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    Good luck! Hope you have a great weekend. Sibling vacation time for us with Tom’s family. Can’t wait. Love, Becky

    • rachturner April 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Thanks, Becky! Hope you have a fantastic time vacationing with Tom’s family!

  2. jksmith032460 April 27, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    The good news is that it give you a reason to nap which we LOVE to do! Maybe I will even take a nap in your honor this weekend. I will be thinking about you all day. I love you. Jennifer

  3. Cancer Warrior April 27, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    sending prayers your way……
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

  4. The Savvy Sister April 27, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Cheers to the chemo countdown! (the countdown…not the chemo) Hope it goes well!

    • rachturner April 29, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks, Susan! It did go well. :)

  5. Tranquil Moments Photography April 28, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    Good luck with treatment Rachel. Hoping it serves you well :)

  6. Cara Olsen April 28, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Hi Rachel,

    I was simply wandering around WordPress this morning and I stumbled upon your blog. I must say the title of this post stopped me short. I know I don’t know you, but my heart took a little dip, and I felt hurt of your behalf. I must say, though, you are an incredibly inspiring woman. I expected to read about the injustices of having such a pernicious disease. I expected some well-justived complaining. I didn’t find any of that, however.

    You are a Light, and I was humbled and honored this morning to meet you.

    Btw, the picture of the pup is precious. :)

    Blessings,
    Cara

    • rachturner April 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      Hi Cara! Thank you so much for stopping by and reading about my “little adventure.” :) Thank you for your kind words – I appreciate them so very much.

Leave a Reply

