A Smile for Your Monday [Video]

2 Apr

You can never have too many reasons to smile on a Monday.  If this video doesn’t do it for you today, nothing will.  So I really hope this makes you smile because I would hate to think of you going through the whole day without smiling.  Not good.  :)

{If you are reading this in email, you may need to click over to my blog to watch the video.}

I have a soft spot in my heart for soldiers returning home after being away for months and months.  I’m an Air Force daughter.  I remember how hard it was to say goodbye to my dad when he left for his tours of duty and how GREAT it was when he returned home.  I’m pretty sure we never greeted him quite like the pup in the video, though!  Good thing he didn’t see this while he was still active duty – he might have traded us girls in for a dog!  ha ha!  Nah.  Mom would have never let that happen.  :)

My nephew is currently in the Air Force and my son-in-law is in the Army and just began a 15 week deployment.  We are counting the days and praying for him constantly until he returns home.  All of this makes me very fond of military reunions.  Whether it’s a mom or dad surprising their kids or a husband returning home to his wife and family, it is guaranteed to bring happy tears to my eyes and make me smile.

What I love most about this video is that there is nothing but pure, unbridled joy coming from that dog at the site of this soldier coming home.  Oh that we could live each day with that much joy!  Just think of the impact we could have on those around us!  Maybe we should leave the face-licking out of it (ha!), but we could definitely increase the amount of joy we express and share with others.

I think dogs are the most amazing creatures;
they give unconditional love.
For me they are the role model for being alive.
Gilda Radner

Let’s see if we can find just one way today to add a little joy to someone else’s life.  Just one way.  A phone call, an email, a handwritten note, a smile, anything.  I think we can do it.  And we might find a little joy for ourselves along the way.

Have a marvelous Monday!
Rachel

7 Responses to “A Smile for Your Monday [Video]”

  1. Simply Tia April 2, 2012 at 6:01 am #

    That dog surely was happy to see him! Hahaha.

    BTW how’s your cat doing? Better since you guys turned around the fans?

    Have a wonderful Monday Rachel.

    • rachturner April 2, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Pumpkin is doing great! Except for a few minutes on Saturday when we were rearranging some furniture and cleaning and Barry accidentally bumped the ceiling fan. Pumpkin took off running. It’s crazy how he has “developed” this fear. Hope you are having a great day, Tia!!

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography April 2, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    “Let’s see if we can find just one way today to add a little joy to someone else’s life. Just one way. A phone call, an email, a handwritten note, a smile, anything. I think we can do it.” ~ Yeap, I can do that :) have it on my list for the day, right at the very top!! All the best to your nephew and son in law and praying for their safe returns home. Cute video, Rach, man and his best friend for sure! Have a good one :)

    • rachturner April 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Thanks, Daphne! Isn’t that the best video?? I love how over the top that dog is with excitement.

  3. Susan April 2, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    That video was so awesome! Yes it did make me smile. I was in the military in England when I was young and remember my younger brother always being so happy to see me when I came home on leave. Happy Times :)

    • rachturner April 2, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Hey Susan – I didn’t know you had been in the military! Makes me like you even more. :)

  4. jksmith032460 April 2, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Dogs are wonderful! You know how excited my Isabelle is just to see us after being gone for a few hours – imagine a few months. It makes you wonder what goes on it their heads. That dog obviously knew that his owner had been gone for a while but was now back. Did the dog think he was gone forever? Is that a thought a dog can have?

    And I do remember the homecomings when Dad came back from overseas but what I remember more is all the days without him in our lives – all the letters and cards – all the packages. (There wasn’t cell phones or email.)

    Love you.
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

