Things Are Not Always As They Seem [Video]

30 Mar

This video is of Charlotte and Jonathan auditioning for Britain’s Got Talent.  It is A-MAZ-ING.  I just love Simon’s reaction.

{If you are reading this in email, you may need to click over to my blog to watch the video.}

As I watched this video I kept thinking how things are not always as they seem.  What we see of this young man on the outside gives no indication of what is inside of him.

And then I began to wonder how many times I make an assumption about someone based on how they appear or on my first impression of them.  Sadly, I’m ashamed to admit, I do it too often.

Isn’t this true in so many situations in life?  We make fast assumptions without knowing what’s going on behind-the-scenes.

Someone at work is less than nice to us and we assume they are just an awful person.  We don’t know what’s going on inside.  We don’t know his wife has filed for divorce.

We go to the store and the sales person is rude to us and we assume they are just a worthless employee.  We don’t know what’s going on inside.  We don’t know that her child has cancer.

The guy beside us on the interstate cuts us off as he weaves in and out of traffic.  We don’t know what’s going on inside.  We don’t know that he had a flat tire and is now late to interview for a job that he desperately needs.

If you watched the video all the way to the end, you will see that Jonathan not only is an amazing singer, he has a good heart.  I could learn a lot from him.

Since being diagnosed with cancer last year, I’ve encountered numerous people who currently have or have had cancer.  People I never would have guessed had been through such an ordeal.  It’s opened my eyes to the reality that what we see on the outside – the smiles, the brave faces, the controlled demeanors, the confident hearts – give no indication of the inner struggles so many people have faced and are facing.

Cancer is not a nice teacher, but it is a teacher nonetheless.  I’m grateful for some of the lessons I’m learning.

I hope you all have a fantastic Friday and a beautiful weekend!
♥ Rachel

12 Responses to “Things Are Not Always As They Seem [Video]”

  1. Becky Robinson March 30, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    Wow!! Beautiful!! You are so right. What is inside a person is often more important than what is on the outside.

    Have a blessed weekend.

    Love, Becky

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      Hey Becky! I’ve missed you. :) Have a wonderful weekend, too!

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography March 30, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    Thank you Rach, I so needed that today! I too am ashamed of my thoughts. Those two young people brought the house down and me to tears. We are so quick to judge people in this society of ours. That young boy has been judged all his life by his outward appearance, but his personality radiates a caring and comassionate human being. We all need more Jonathan’s (& Charlotte too) in our lives. Have a Fabulous Friday!!

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      You said it better than I did, Daphne! We definitely need more Jonathan’s and Charlotte’s. :)

  3. Cancer Warrior March 30, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    That video moved me to tears. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for sharing your thoughts. Have a great weekend!
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      Hey Flo! It’s hard to watch and not tear up. Hope you are doing well!

  4. The Savvy Sister March 30, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    I just posted this to my facebook yesterday! I love it and what it says about people. When I watched this I boo hooed like a baby. Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend!

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 9:36 am #

      Susan – It is impossible not to share this, right? I just love it. Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. jksmith032460 March 30, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I had chills when they started singing – what a WONDERFUL story and a great way to start my day. That will make me smile all day thinking of the two of them singing!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Love, Jenn

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      Kind of makes you feel all warm & fuzzy. :)

      • jksmith032460 March 31, 2012 at 7:36 am #

        I have to admit that I watched this clip 3 times yesterday for 2 reasons. 1) it is a great lesson about not pre judging people and 2) there were just amazing and it was so beautiful and sweet!

        You have said it before in your blog about how we should be kind to people that we meet because you don’t know what they are dealing with or who they really are. This is a visual of what you have been saying.

        Love you!
        Jennifer

      • rachturner March 31, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

        That’s so cool that you watched it 3 times! It really does make you smile. Mom said she cried when she watched it! I actually had a moment today where I started to make an assumption about someone based on how they looked and I stopped myself. Now, if I can just do that on a regular basis! :)

Leave a Reply

