When We Don’t Get Our Way

27 Mar

What usually happens when we don’t get our way?  We get angry, right?  We get mad, sometimes even furious because things are not turning out the way we want them to – someone is not doing things the way we want them to, something is not happening the way it should be happening, we do not have control.  In essence, we are not getting our way.  So we get mad.

That’s how I feel today.  I’m mad.  Things are not turning out at all the way I hoped and prayed they would.  I mentioned on Friday that I was worried and praying for a friend who was having some tests done to hopefully rule out breast cancer.

Well, it didn’t get ruled out and now my friend has been handed a cancer diagnosis.  There are still more tests to be done before the complete diagnosis can be made, but based on what we know now, this journey is going to be tougher than we hoped.

So, I’m mad.  I’m angry. In fact, I think I’m more mad about this than I was about my own diagnosis.  I’m confused and I want to know why this is happening.  Why does it have to happen to her, to her family?  It seems so unfair.  They’ve been through a lot already and now this.

I don’t want my friend to walk this road, to have to face her fears and muster up crazy amounts of courage.  I don’t want her to join the cancer club – I want her to stay out!  :)  I don’t want her family to be afraid and worried and anxious.

But I don’t have control of this.  Oh, I WISH I did because I would love to kick this (and every other) cancer to the curb!  What I do have control over is what I can do for my friend and that is to (as Martina McBride would sing) love her through it.

My Sweet Friend – I know you are reading this.  :)  I know you are scared and sad and disappointed and worried and anxious, not only for yourself, but for your family.  I also hope that you know how much you are loved.  There is an army of people who care for you and who are ready to support you through this unwanted journey.  WE WILL help you through this.  WE WILL encourage you, pray for you, and love you through this.  You are not alone.

♥ Rachel

19 Responses to “When We Don’t Get Our Way”

  1. Cancer Warrior March 27, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    Sending prayers for your friend. I can totally relate to what you are saying. Whenever I think about someone I love getting this disease and having to go through what I went through, it really upsets me. Rachel, I am sure you will be a great support to her.
    cancer warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Flo – I keep thinking about the verse in the Bible that talks about how God comforts us in our time of need so that we can comfort others. :)

  2. Diana March 27, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    I will be praying for your friend and her family! We know the power of prayer!

    • rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Diana – After what John experienced last week, I know God can heal her! Still get goosebumps when I think about his heart attack that wasn’t a heart attack. :)

  3. Tranquil Moments Photography March 27, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    So sorry your friend has been dealt this hand, crappy as it may be :( I wrote in my blog this morning about “Support” and “Lean on Me”. When I read your blog I instantly thought of what I wrote. Rach, you have been down this road and still continue through the bumps. You know how the first days feel of being diagnosed with the” BIG C,” but I also know that with your love, support and encouragement, you will help your friend through this. Put your mad frustrations aside (I know, easy for me to say) and use your positive energy to help your friend carry her burden.:) You are an awesome person and your friend is lucky to have you. (((HUGS))) Daphne

    • rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      Hugs right back to you, Daphne. You are such a sweetheart! Thank you for your kind words.

  4. The Savvy Sister March 27, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    Terrible news, but as you know support is everything. You’ll be a great one and get her through this. And please remember all your “breast” blogging friends who are ready to lend a hand too.

    • rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      Susan – Thank You!! Support is essential to anyone facing cancer. You guys have been such a blessing to me and no telling how many others!

  5. Elizabeth Thoms March 27, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Rachel,
    My thoughts and prayers are with your friend and her family. But more importantly, If your friend or you needs strength or a shoulder(s) to lean on, your can have my strength and shoulders. I mean it honey. I’m here for you and those you love.
    Love you
    Elizabeth

    • rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      Elizabeth – You are such a wonderful gift to this world! I can’t even express how grateful I am that we became friends some 27+ years ago (can you believe it’s been that long??). I hope you are feeling better and better each day. Love you, girl.

  6. mainelyhopeful March 27, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    I’m sorry about your friend. I heard that a young family acquaintance had ovarian cancer about a week after my diagnosis and I took it harder than my own. I hope her journey through this is as easy as possible on her.

    • rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Susan – Isn’t it wild how our emotions are more fierce for those we love than for ourselves? I was pretty calm (for the most part) about my own diagnosis, but I am just crushed by hers. Thank you for the encouragement for her.

  7. rachturner March 27, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    You guys are amazing! Thank you so much for your love and prayers for my friend. Thank you!!

  8. Susan March 27, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    I am here also Rachel with love and prayers for your friend. I have several friends now that have either been through or are going through this and lots and lots of friends that can be counted on for prayers. Good thoughts and hugs coming your way to give to your friend.

  9. Sarah Lawhorn March 27, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Rach – this made me tear up… I love her, I love you, and I’m so glad that you have each other (and so many others) to lean on. I’m continuing to lift her up to the Lord and ask for healing!

  10. rachturner March 27, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Sarah – Made me tear up as I wrote it. :) Love you!

  11. Simply Tia March 28, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    I’m sooooo sorry to read this. I’m really feeling for your friend. *sighs*

    Friend, remember if God brought you to it, he will bring you THROUGH IT. Your struggle will be hard. There will be some tough and bad days and you will have some hills to climb but all of your good days will outweigh the bad days so through it all, try your best not to complain. Let this entire experience be a story, a light for someone else. I’m sure you have a lot of people in your corner and even if we don’t know each other, I’m still cheering you on! You will beat this thing!

    Have a great day Friend and Rachel.

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      Tia – YOU are fabulous! Thank you for encouraging her. She read the comments and they meant so much to her.

Leave a Reply

