Mountains of Worry

23 Mar

I’m convinced that, in some ways (not in all ways, but in some ways), it is easier to be the patient than the person on the other side doing the worrying and waiting.

This has been a tough week for some friends.  One friend’s son was in a serious car accident and is, thankfully, recovering.  Another friend had surgery yesterday to hopefully rule out breast cancer.  Another friend’s daughter has breast cancer and had a double mastectomy.  And one of our sweet neighbors had some heavy duty chest pains that landed him in the hospital, but thankfully, turned out to not be a heart attack.

So many families worried about someone they love.  Countless friends lifting up hundreds, if not thousands, of prayers for their recovery and healing.  Many sleepless nights all around.

{Click on the image to see a larger version.}

It’s at times like these when we know we should trust God.  We cry out to him for help, but do we trust Him?  How do we trust Him?  Do we simply say, “Lord, I trust you in this situation and I know that you are in control.”  Sure, that’s a good start, but I think it involves much more than just saying the words.

To trust God is an action, not just a statement.

It’s a choice, not just a concept.

It’s a commitment, not just a one-time promise.

I’m convinced that the decision to trust God and not be overwhelmed with worry about possibly life-altering situations is most often a decision that has to be made – and re-made – every day.  It’s possible the decision to trust has to be made every hour of every day during certain times of life.  But if we can do it.  If we can honestly trust God.  I believe we can truly find peace during some of the most difficult days we will face.

Hoping each one of you has a lovely weekend.
♥ Rachel

13 Responses to “Mountains of Worry”

  1. Cancer Warrior March 23, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    Sounds like a rough week, Rachel.
    I am not a worrier by nature, and the reason is that I have learned to put things in God’s hands.

  2. Simply Tia March 23, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Oh how I needed this reminder this morning Rachel. Thank you so much!!! I hope that the accident victim recovers speedily. I hope that the surgery was successful and the breast cancer is gone. I hope that the young lady that just had a double mastectomy stays strong and stays encouraged and I hope the man with the chest pains feel better and doesn’t have to go through that soon – SINCERELY!

    Be blessed and continue to spread your optimism and encouragement Rachel. I soooo appreciate you!

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    • rachturner March 23, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Aww, Tia! You have SUCH a sweet heart – thank you for sharing it with me.

  3. Patty March 23, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    Have I told you lately that I JUST LOVE YOU! and I thank GOD for giving you to me to be my friend! Have a great weekend!

    Patty

    • rachturner March 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Patty – You made me smile!! Love you, too, girl!!

  4. The Savvy Sister March 23, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Your a good friend to share the burden of worry with all these people. I’m sure it helps them to cope.

    • rachturner March 23, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Susan – That’s one of the reasons why we are here – to share each other’s burdens. :)

  5. Tranquil Moments Photography March 23, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Having YOU and GOD for support is a blessing for your friends. Like the Old time hymn, “It is no secret what God can do”….keep the faith Rachel. Have a happy weekend.

    D

    • rachturner March 23, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      Have a beautiful weekend, Daphne!

  6. Carina March 23, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Last month, when I was in the hospital, a chaplain told me try not to worry about things that has not happened yet. Easier said than done but true. Worrying too much does not help.

    • rachturner March 23, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      It is much easier said that done, Carina, but you’re right – worrying does not help.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When We Don’t Get Our Way « Blessings in Disguise - March 27, 2012

    […] mad.  Things are not turning out at all the way I hoped and prayed they would.  I mentioned on Friday that I was worried and praying for a friend who was having some tests done to hopefully rule out […]

Leave a Reply

