Oh, Pollen.

22 Mar

Spring arrived this week.  Well, to be more accurate, Spring “technically” arrived this week.  The warm temps and allergies arrived weeks ago.  We hardly had a winter to speak of around these parts.  Do you think that means summer’s going to be a scorcher??

Look at this gorgeous flowering dogwood tree.  It was in full bloom last week – a solid week before spring’s official arrival.

Anyone who lives in Tennessee, or the South for that matter, knows that spring and pollen go hand in hand.

Dictionary.com’s definition of pollen is:

the fertilizing element of flowering plants, consisting of fine, powdery, yellowish grains or spores, sometimes in masses.

I don’t think that definition is complete, though.  That definition makes pollen sound all sweet and innocent.  But it’s not.  Oh, no, it’s not.  :)

My definition of pollen is:

that stuff that shows up in the spring, turns white cars yellow and makes eyes itch, noses run, and throats tickle.  Oh, yeah, and it also makes people cough.  And sinuses hurt.  And heads fuzzy.

This was the parking lot at work yesterday.  There was so much pollen on the ground you could actually see tire tracks in it!  That’s crazy.  We didn’t even get enough snow this winter to make a dusting like that!  :)

And apparently, the city I live in is the 7th worst in the country for spring allergies.  In fact, there are three Tennessee cities among the top 10!  Yay.

Oh, pollen.  You are not nice.

Thankfully, you arrive in some awfully pretty packages.  Blue skies.  Bright sunshine.  Vibrant trees and flowers.

There are few things as glorious as springtime in the south.

So, I suppose, as with a lot of things in life, we have to take the good with the bad, right?

Hope you have a beautiful day!
♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “Oh, Pollen.”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography March 22, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    What a beautiful tree. Sorry your allergies are giving you grief. Are you able to take some medication for it? We still have snow on the ground and in the trees here so I am a little jealous of your warm weather. Have a terrific Thursday Rach.

    • rachturner March 22, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      Daphne – Isn’t that a gorgeous tree?? I got so lucky with that shot – took it with my phone camera if you can believe that! Yes, meds help, but when the counts are up in the thousands, it’s hard for drugs to make a dent. I’m not suffering too bad, though. There are others much worse off than I am.

  2. Cancer Warrior March 22, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    I live in the same neck of the woods as “Tranquil Moments”…..snow on the ground. I am so looking forward to seeing the first crocuses pop their heads up, which usually happens in April. In the meantime, I will be starting some seeds today.

    • rachturner March 22, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Hmmm….snow or pollen. I think I’ll take pollen. :) I am not a cold weather person. Hope you’re doing well this week, Flo!

  3. Simply Tia March 22, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Sorry about your allergies Rach.

    We haven’t had much of a winter up here either, not that I’m complaining. And I, for one, am hoping summer will be hottttt. I had planned a trip back to my islands but have to push it back until October so the heat (if it’s hot enough here in the U.S) will make up for that. I hate chilly or cold weather. HATE.

    Have a wonderful day.

    • rachturner March 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      You and me, both, Tia! I seriously dislike cold weather and would much rather have a scorcher of a summer (except that it kills my grass) over a cold winter.

  4. The Savvy Sister March 22, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    I hope the excess pollen means we will have a super honey season!

  5. Carina March 22, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Achoo. Just reading this post makes me sneeze. Glad I don’t live there. I suffer with allergies in Colorado enough.

    • rachturner March 22, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      I’m glad you’re not having to deal with allergies on top of everything else you have going on right now, Carina. :)

Leave a Reply

