Be Strong and Courageous

20 Mar

Today’s post is going to be simple.  I’m going to let the scripture do most of the talking because it does a much better job than I do.  Especially when my heart is anxious.

Source: Pinterest

I have a sweet friend who needs to be encouraged today.  She’s having some tests this afternoon and she’s anxious.  I’m anxious with her.  I want her to have these verses on her heart this afternoon so that the fear doesn’t take over.  I want God to fill every part of her soul today so that there is not even an inch of space for anxiety.

I have a feeling there might be some others reading today who could use these reminders, too.  :)

“Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:9

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

I am reminded that God does not give us anxiety.

He does not give us fear.

He does not give us worry.

He does not give us troubled minds.

In fact, he gives us the exact opposite.  He gives us peace.  He gives us hope.  He gives us power.

“For God gave us a spirit NOT of fear, but of power and love and self-control.”  2 Timothy 1:7

And lastly,

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”  Hebrews 4:16

Have a blessed Tuesday.
Rachel

8 Responses to “Be Strong and Courageous”

  1. Simply Tia March 20, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    Rachel’s friend – if you’re reading this – be encouraged. Stay strong and think positively. The scripture says that we should walk by FAITH (and not sight) and we should speak of things as they are. The first step begins in our minds (in our thoughts). Claim healing, claim your victory and claim great (favorable) test results.

    Have a wonderful day.

    • rachturner March 20, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      Tia – You are wonderful! :)

      • Simply Tia March 21, 2012 at 6:03 am #

        As are you Rachel!! *grins*

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography March 20, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Amen to that Rach. Blessings to you as well. I look forward to your daily blog. Have a wonderful day.

  3. jlpaddock March 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    I have had the Philippians verse on my heart all day…but I appreciate your words about God not giving us anxiety, fear or worry. It is a different thing to approach dealing with these things when you realize they come from Satan. I’m glad we could connect. Blessings, Lynnea

  4. createdtobebeautiful March 27, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh, Rachel… this same message has been given to me so, so many times over the last 3 weeks!!! And here I am again, trying to get caught up on reading my blogs… once again facing impossible circumstances and God… our wonderful, amazing, faithful God reassures me, yet again, to be strong and courageous and to not fear… so I won’t! I have no idea how He is going take care of the issues, but I will stand firm in His promises that He will be there with me. He never fails us!!! Thank you for this encouragement that has put a big ol’ smile on my face!!! :)

    • rachturner March 30, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      Tara – I’m so sorry you are facing such difficult circumstances. You said it – stand firm in His promises. He will not let you down. Praying for you sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

