The Peace-Filling Truth About Plans

19 Mar

I’m working through the Bible study, James: Mercy Triumphs, by Beth Moore.  James is my absolute favorite book of the Bible.  I’ve always loved 1) how short it is!  ha ha :) and 2) how direct James speaks in it.  It’s very hard to misinterpret what he says.  There are some books of the Bible that just stump me.  I find them hard to understand and, therefore, to put into action.  The meaning in James is plain as day.  Sometimes it’s uncomfortably straightforward, but it’s seldom misunderstood.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

Do you ever get so busy that you forget to breath?  I don’t mean forget to breath completely because you would pass out, but you forget to take deep breaths?  I do.  But then something will cause me to stop and take a deep breath and it feels so good because I haven’t done it in a while.  Well, I read something yesterday that she wrote in the study and it resonated with me in such a way that I stopped reading and took a deep breath.

This is what Beth wrote:

“God is the one with the real plan.”

That statement came out of a discussion around James 4:14:

“Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”

I don’t know about you, but that gives me a lot of peace.  My mind tends to spin like a top with all the things I want to do or should do or plan to do.  Knowing that – being reminded that – God is ultimately the one in control allows me to step back and relax.

Right now, my life feels a little out of control with projects and things that need to be done.  I’m pretty much “back” full time into my life-before-cancer and there’s so much that needs to be done.  Work is crazy busy and I have some personal projects that are taking up a significant amount of time, too.  There have been a few days recently when I’ve felt overwhelmed by it all.  Remembering that MY plans are not necessarily HIS plans prevents me from feeling so anxious because I know HIS plans are better than mine.

Maybe for you, life feels out of control since you were diagnosed with cancer.  The initial shock of wondering what is going to happen to the rest of your life is pretty intense.  You are worried about getting through treatment, managing work and your family, and let’s not forget how worried you are about your prognosis for cure, for your very survival.  This is big stuff.

But what if you stop and remind yourself that no one – none of us – know what will happen tomorrow.  That was true before diagnosis and it is still true today.  We can hope and plan, worry and fear about the future, but the truth is – the peace-filling truth is – that God’s already got it planned out.  Let’s try to just rest in that peace today.

I hope your Monday is marvelous and your week gets off to the best start possible!
♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “The Peace-Filling Truth About Plans”

  1. Shellie Rushing Tomlinson March 19, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Oh, dear one!!! I’m so glad I followed you home just now.:)) I love this post. Love me some James and Beth Moore and what’s more, I NEED to know what’s going on in lives of my readers. THANK YOU for your faithful witness on this cancer road. I wil be back to read more when times allows. In the meantime,I will add your name to my prayers! Much love~

    • rachturner March 19, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      Shellie – Thank you SO much for “following me home.” :) And especially – thank you for your prayers.

Leave a Reply

