It Was Just One Hour of Sleep

14 Mar

But it feels like I gave up a whole night. :)

I have been dragging all week.  Granted, it’s been a busier few days for me than normal, but still.  I think it’s related to that one itty, bitty hour of sleep I lost Saturday night.

I am deeply fond of my sleep – every single minute of it – as Barry would attest to by my inability to wake up even with the alarm clock going off beside my head.  :)

For some reason, this time change has worn me slap out.  I haven’t slept well since the time change because I think my body is so used to it being dark for several hours before I go to bed, that I’m finding it hard to actually fall asleep when it’s only been dark for an hour or two.

And I’m not alone.  I put this question on Facebook yesterday:  “Is anyone else really missing that hour of sleep we lost on Saturday?”  The responses were unanimous ranging anywhere from Yes, to Definitely, to Desperately, to …ummm YESSSSS!

Even Pumpkin is suffering.  Just look at the poor guy – he curled up in a big ball last night and just crashed.  Of course, in full disclosure, I must tell you that he does this often.  :)

Interestingly enough, the University of Alabama conducted a study on the effects of the time change on people and came to some fascinating conclusions.  Now, even though I find it very hard to trust anything that comes out of the University of Alabama (because they are in direct competition with my beloved Auburn University), I find myself agreeing with the results of their study.  There, I said it.  I agree with something from the U of A.  :)

  • An abrupt change to a person’s schedule can increase their chance of having a heart attack by 10%.
  • The time change can mess up our body’s circadian rhythm which creates puts stress on body cells that are trying to adjust to the change.
  • This can even affect your immune system because your immunity cells have internal clocks that do not respond well to abrupt changes.

So, what’s a gal to do about this?  Professor Martin Young suggests easing yourself into the time change so that Monday and the rest of the week doesn’t hit you so hard.  One way to do this is to get up 30 minutes earlier on the weekend than you normally would.  He also recommends getting some sunlight in the morning, especially on Monday morning.  I’m not quite sure how we accomplish this without getting some type of sunlamp for our homes because it is pitch black in the morning thanks to the, you guessed it, the time change!

My question is this – what do we do now?  For those of us who did not ease ourselves into the time change, how do we get ourselves out of this sleep-deprived funk?

I think we should all go directly to bed, do not pass go, do not collect $200, and sleep until, well, until we wake up.  ha ha!!  Who’s with me?

♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “It Was Just One Hour of Sleep”

  1. Simply Tia March 14, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    I’m with you!

    I, too, am still adjusting to the hour loss. Hopefully by the end of this week, I will get it together.

    Have a wonderful day Rachel.

  2. tranquilmomentsphotography March 14, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I hear ya! Sweet dreams :)

  3. Susan March 14, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Me! Slept in late this morning and already feel better for it :)

    • rachturner March 14, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      Susan – So glad you got to sleep in – you needed some extra rest.

  4. Cancer Warrior March 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I am feeling it too. I just thought to myself, “Well, no wine for me tonight”, then I realized I did not have any wine last night…or the night before for that matter. But I feel HUNGOVER. I thought it may be due to my radiation treatments, but maybe the time change is the real culprit.
    Must sleep…….
    cancer warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • rachturner March 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      Florence – I think for you it’s a combination of radiation and the time change, so you’re getting a double whammy. Hope you got some good rest today.

  5. Kathy March 14, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    What do we do…well let’s see.

    A.) Set your alarm clock for an earlier than normal and hit “snooze” until you feel like you’ve had the right amount of “extra” sleep.

    B.) Put “cicada” bugs outside your bedroom window. They’ll have your “circadian” rhythm back in order in no time, haha! You’ll be thankful for any sleep you can get.

    C.) Sleep with all the lights on in your room.

    D.) All of the above.

    Love you, Kathy

    • rachturner March 14, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      You’re so silly! Guess that’s why I love you so much. :)

Leave a Reply

