Does Meekness Equal Weakness?

13 Mar

Do you know what it means to be meek?

I think a lot of us might describe a meek person as someone who is passive or mild-mannered.  We might even think of them as being  wimpy, spineless, maybe afraid to stand up for themselves – the weakest link.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

I heard something recently that made me stop and think.  I’ve grown up in the church and I’ve heard and read this verse numerous times:

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
Matthew 5:5

Yet, I didn’t really have a complete understanding of the word “meek.”

While listening to Pete Wilson speak, I learned that one way to look at the word meek is to define it as power under control.  I think he may have taken this from some of John MacArthur’s teachings because MacArthur says

“Meekness is gentleness and mildness, and a subdued character, but it is not weakness. It is power under control.”*

Go figure.  That’s pretty much the opposite of what I thought a meek person would be like, someone who has power but keeps it under control.  I guess I always thought a meek person was someone who was almost powerless.

But really, a meek person is someone who has their power, their emotions, their patience, their reactions, and their influence – under control.  It’s gentle influence.

That’s the kind of person I would like to be.  Not that I think I have a lot of power or influence, but what little I do have, I would like to keep it under control and use it in an appropriate way.  Someone with gentle influence?  I think that’s what I will aspire and aim to be.

I hope you have a beautiful Tuesday!
♥ Rachel

*From Restoring the Virtue of Meekness by John MacArthur
9 Responses to “Does Meekness Equal Weakness?”

  1. The Savvy Sister March 13, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Rachel, if meek was an Olympic sport, you’d be on a big ole box of Wheaties. :)

    • rachturner March 13, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Susan – You made me laugh out loud at the absurdity of your comment! :) I feel miles away from being meek, but THANK YOU for thinking that of me. You are awesome.

  2. Cancer Warrior March 13, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I was going to say “I think you are already there” but Susan said it WAY better with her words :)
    Cancer Warrior

    • rachturner March 13, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      Florence – You and Susan are like little cheerleaders spurring me on! Like I told her, I’m no where near meek, but it gives me something to strive for. Imagine what the world would be like if everyone lived there lives with power under control!

  3. tranquilmomentsphotography March 13, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    ” I guess I always thought a meek person was someone who was almost powerless.
    That’s the kind of person I would like to be. Not that I think I have a lot of power or influence, but what little I do have, I would like to keep it under control and use it in an appropriate way. Someone with gentle influence? I think that’s what I will aspire and aim to be.”

    We are on the same thinking Rachel.

    • rachturner March 14, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

      Yes, we definitely are on the same page, Daphne. :)

  4. Jennifer March 13, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    I think Dad is the definition of meekness according to that new way of thinking – must be where you got it from!

    • rachturner March 14, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      Definitely Dad. He came to mind as I was writing that. No, I don’t “got it” – I need it! :)

  5. Kelsey Payton July 26, 2016 at 3:48 pm #

    Where can I find this podcast? I remember listening to it years ago and can’t find it for the life of me!

Leave a Reply

