3.10.63

9 Mar

If you missed yesterday’s post about the study suggesting there is a link between a chemical in certain sodas and cancer, be sure to check it out.  The comments so far have been very interesting – I’d love to get your thoughts.

Tomorrow is my husband’s birthday.  March 10, 1963 was the day little Barry Turner entered the world in Nashville, Tennessee.  Interestingly, that’s where we met even though that’s not where he grew up or lived most of his adult life.  Funny how God brings things full circle like that.

On this birthday, he’ll be…shhhhh…49.  That’s pretty old.  Glad I’m not that old.  Yet.  :)

This is a picture of him at age 4.  Is that some kind of cute, or what??

Barry: Age 4

Ya’ll, I have to tell you. I am so blessed to be his wife. God knew exactly the type of person I would need to get me through cancer treatments. He’s been my rock. So solid and reassuring. I was an old woman when I met him.  I had accepted that I might never get married. And then came Barry and everything changed for the better.

It’s his birthday and the gifts should be all for him, but the truth is he is the gift and I am the recipient of a lifetime of love with my best friend.

Source: Pinterest

Happy Birthday, Honey!! I love you so much!!

It’s been a really good week.  The side effects from maintenance chemo were almost non-existent except for a small amount of fatigue.  I feel like I’ve really turned the corner toward better days.  I hope you all have a wonderful Friday and a beautiful weekend!

♥ Rachel

8 Responses to “3.10.63”

  1. Simply Tia March 9, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Your husband was such a darling child. He looks soooooo cute!!! Happy Birthday to him. I hope he has a fantastic day!!!

    Glad you’re having a good week and feeling better! All praise be to God!

    • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      Thanks, Tia! Hope you have a beautiful weekend!

  2. tranquilmomentsphotography March 9, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    So glad you are having a good week. Happy 49th Birthday to Barry. Tell him hitting 50 doesn’t hurt a bit! Enjoy your weekend!!

  3. Carina March 9, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Aww very very cute.

  4. Danni March 9, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Hi Rach,

    I just saw your comment on my blog so thought I’d come and leave one here. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about my friend Ramon. I am so sorry to hear you are going through the cancer journey too but it looks and sounds very hopeful so Praise God for that! God is good, in and through everything. Have a great weekend!

    – Danni

    • rachturner March 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks so much, Danni. My heart really goes out to Ramon and his family. I’m so glad that he has a strong faith in God – that they all/you all do because that is the only thing we can truly cling to at times like this. Like you said, God is good – not just when things are going well, but even when things are hard. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  5. Cancer Warrior March 10, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    Happy Birthday, Barry!

Leave a Reply

