Houston, We Have a Problem

8 Mar

Not the most original title by any means, but it is exactly what popped into my head when I read this headline from the SanFrancisco Chronicle:

Cancer-Causing Chemical Found in Coca-Cola, Pepsi, Group Says

Oh. No.

According to the consumer advocacy group, Center for Science in the Public Interest, a chemical found in Coke, Diet Coke, Pepsi, and Diet Pepsi was found to cause cancer in lab animals.  The chemical, 4-methylimidazole, helps to make up the caramel coloring of the beverages.

Reading this caused me to put my Diet Dr. Pepper down and do some fast Googling to see what other information was available about this study.  :)

It’s interesting to note, though, that in the same report, CSPI indicated that this chemical is NOT the most dangerous ingredient in sodas.

It’s not???

According a statement released by CSPI, “Soda drinkers should be much more concerned about the high-fructose corn syrup or other sugars used in soft drinks.  Soda drinkers are much more likely than non-soda drinkers to develop weight gain, obesity, diabetes and other health problems.” (Source: LATimes.com)

However, in another article by Bloomberg, I found a statement issued by the FDA refuting this claim by pointing out that humans would have to drink 1,000 of these sodas each day in order to obtain the levels of this chemical that were used with the rodents in the study.

Whew!  For a minute there, I thought I was going to have to pour my Diet Dr. Pepper down the drain.  ;)

I drink a Diet Dr. Pepper most mornings, but I’m pretty fond of Diet Coke, too. Love the stuff.  I could give it up if I had to, but I really don’t want to.  It’s my coffee.  I usually only have one a day, but some days require two!  I always drink water in between if I have more than one, so I’m at least balancing it a little with something better for me and I try to make sure my intake of water far exceeds the amount of Diet DP I drink.

I’m not one of these people who gets all hyped up about every health and medical related report that is released because I know there’s always a lot more to them than the snippets we receive through the media.  And there’s usually a report touting the exact opposite released soon after.  Everything in moderation, right?

It is an interesting idea, though.  Could it have caused my cancer?  Possibly.  But so could any number of other things such as the food I eat that contains preservatives, the air I breathe that is full of smog, or the tap water I drink that I’m sure is less than pure.

Ok, this has all been a little tongue and cheek, but seriously, what are your thoughts on drinking soda?

  1. Gotta have it every day!
  2. Never touch the stuff.
  3. Have it on occasion, but I can also do without it.

I have been considering giving up my Diet DP, even before I read this.  Now, I might need to give it even more consideration.  I think I’ll go have a Diet Dr. Pepper and think about it.  Ha ha!!

Hope you have a fantastic Thursday!!
♥ Rachel

25 Responses to “Houston, We Have a Problem”

  1. swartouthill March 8, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    I can officially say that Betty and I have not touched the stuff for 68 days.

    Love You, Chris

    • rachturner March 8, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Chris!! You commented!!!! That alone is cause for celebration! ;) But seriously – 68 days without it? WAY TO GO!! That’s fantastic!! DO you feel different? Better? Do you crave it?? You may have just motivated me to let it go. Love you, buddy.

      • swartouthill March 8, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

        Wow…Didn’t know my comment would warrant exclamation marks. Anyway…I miss soda about 2-3 times a month. By miss I mean, the degree I could easily cheat and pick one up. I certainly feel much better, since having given it up. Last month I had my PT test and scored better than ever, 89.2 out of 100. I have to say my addiction was much deeper than one in the morning as I would drink them all day. I’m going to do a 180 here and say I think there is a huge benefit of the morning caffeine kick and not having that might cause you to have larger issues in other areas. For instance, if you stop and you find it harder to keep up your blog…Weeelllllllllllllll then we all have a problem. Alright…I’m about to get on Facebook and will send you a message with a few other updates.

        Love You, Chris

    • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      You’re so funny, Chris!! I’m so proud of you for your score on the PT test!!! And really proud of your, now 69 days without soda. Since I write the blog posts at night, the caffeine doesn’t come into play so no worries that I’ll stop. Thanks for the encouragement, though. I love that you read my blog – means a lot to me. Love you!!

  2. tranquilmomentsphotography March 8, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    Interesting article Rachel. I am a diet pepsi gal, from the can and not bottle. Now as to my consumption of it, well only once a week. I am a tea person so that’s my main beverage.

    • rachturner March 8, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      I like my Diet DP over ice in a tervis glass so it stays cold longer. One a week? That’s not bad at all Daphne. Do you drink iced tea or hot tea?

  3. The Savvy Sister March 8, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Never touch the stuff and never would. If I didn’t think it made you oh-so-very-happy, I would seriously come to your house and shake you off the stuff. (tongue in cheek of course)

    • rachturner March 8, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      I knew when I was writing this post that Susan would have something to say to me about my consumption. :) You honestly made me laugh out loud with your response!

  4. Susan March 8, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Have to say my crack of choice is ginger ale. I do drink it as a treat though. Mostly it is water, tea, crystal lite or apple juice. Trying really hard to be a good girl but for a reward, hehe ginger ale :)

    • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      I love Ginger Ale, too! Good drink choices, Susan. Cranberry juice is one of my favs – I like to mix it with Diet 7-Up.

  5. Cancer Warrior March 8, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Before cancer, I was a complete coke addict….Diet Coke to be more specific. I guzzled at least two cans a day. I have wondered if that was the culprit in my cancer….but as you point out Rachel, it could have been my food, my water or even my air! I would guess that it is a combination of these, along with an unhealthy dose of stress. So, I am making changes in ALL of these areas: no more soft drinks period, eating only nutritious foods, good water (not the bottled type), and a significant reduction in the stressors in my life. Cancer will simply not survive in this bod now!
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • The Savvy Sister March 9, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      Thanks CW! I totally agree. As you know, most researchers are giving more credibility to the theory of accumulated exposure that says it’s not just one thing that causes a cell to go bad, but the constant persistent accumulation of a host of small toxins that eventually cause cancer.

      Have you ever played the game “Don’t Spill the Beans”? It’s a kid’s game where players place one bean at a time onto a pot. Eventually the beans get too heavy and the pots tips over and the beans go flying. But no one know which bean is going to tip it.

      Your health is that pot. Daily exposure to pesticides from your food, BPA from plastic exposure, chlorine form your drinking water and bathing, radiation from everywhere, chemical preservatives , stress and anxiety, lack of exercise etc etc will eventually “tip your pot” and cause a good normal cell to mutate.

      That’s why the FDA can’t point to just one cause…because it isn’t “just one thing”. And for the love of Pete, please don’t wait for the FDA to tell you that an artificially flavored artificially carbonated, artificially preserved bunch of liquid chemicals is not good for you. Don’t forget…the FDA said asbestos was perfectly safe at one time too.

      Thanks for allowing me to rant in your reply space CW, I owe you one.

      • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:19 am #

        Your Don’t Spill the Beans example made me think that it’s very much like The Compound Effect (which is a great book by Darren Hardy). He talks about how the little things we do day after day that “compound” to create either positive or negative experiences. Exercising 30 minutes every day over time will not have a huge immediate effect on your body, but over time, the compound effect will be enormous. Eating french fries every now and then is not a problem, but eating them every single day will have a negative compound effect on your body.

        You should be a teacher, Susan. You are great at explaining things with examples that make sense.

    • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      I haven’t gotten to the place where I’m ready to give it up, but I’m getting close. It just taste so darn good. :) I do think stress has a HUGE impact on our physical health and can definitely be a contributor to causing cancer and so many other illnesses. I’m glad that you’ve made such significant improvements in your life!!

  6. srturnerau@aol.com March 8, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    So I saw your post come across FB this AM but just now got time to read it. Glad you did your homework b/c I was about to send you a reply that I got at work with the FDA’s and others response.

    Hope you are doing well!

    Stephanie

    • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      Hey Steph! I’m doing really well. I actually thought about you when I wrote it because of who you work for. I wondered if you would see it and chime in. I think it’s one of those things where a month from now, there will be a study that says something different.

  7. Jennifer March 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Your Diet Dr. Pepper loving sister gave it up a few years ago and now only drink water or tea. Now it doesn’t taste so good when I have it.
    Jenn

    • rachturner March 9, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      Guess I’m going to have to get on the wagon and give it up. :)

      • The Savvy Sister March 9, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

        Don’t think of it as “giving up” think of it as “replacing it with something that will be helping your health AND taste good” (now if we can just find some Dr Pepper flavored green tea…)

      • rachturner March 10, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

        I like that Susan. Ok, so I’m not GIVING UP Diet DP, I’m replacing it with water, a healthier option. If it makes you feel better, I only drank half of one yesterday. :) That’s a start!

  8. Kathy March 9, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    I sure am glad you just wrote about this subject for 1 day. I can sort of make like I didn’t see it for 1 day…but if you stayed on it say, for a week or so it might get to me, haha!

    • rachturner March 10, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      Kathy – You crack me up! Love you SO much!!

  9. Claudia Schmidt March 11, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    I’ve never been a soda drinker, my mom never had it in the house when we grew up, but my 14 year old SON is a huge soda drinker – Coke in particular is his drink of choice. I’m going to use this as ammo to get him to stop drinking it. Water is the best thing to drink, in my opinion and soda is just calories without any substance to them. If I’m gonna’ ingest 200 or so calories, it’ll be on ice cream, not soda. Just saying’…… :)

  10. 時計 セール September 13, 2013 at 5:55 am #

    カルティエ ダイヤ ネックレス 時計 セール http://www.hloah.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3.10.63 « Blessings in Disguise - March 9, 2012

    […] you missed yesterday’s post about the study suggesting there is a link between a chemical in certain sodas and cancer, be sure […]

Leave a Reply

