Sending Cancer a Reminder

2 Mar

I actually feel like I’m embarking on a long journey today and this is the first leg of the trip.  It’s going to take me a while to arrive at my destination, but I’m going to get there.

This is more about patience and endurance than about hitting it hard and strong.  I’ve already done hard and strong.  Now, I’m reminding the cancer that it has no place in my body – that it is not welcome here.  And I’ll remind it of this every eight weeks for two years, or until it gets the message.

It feels a little strange to resume treatment after an eight-week break.  Sort of like being on summer vacation and now it’s time to go back to school.  I didn’t like it then and I’m not all that crazy about it now.  ha ha!!  :)

I feel a little nervous (not sure why because I’ve done this before), but I’m anxiously excited to get started on this next phase of treatment.  I’ll get labs done in the morning, see the doctor and then settle in for what should be a fairly short treatment because I only have to get one drug.  I should be done around mid-day and then can go home and rest off the Benadryl and Ativan.

Because I’ve been asked by several people, I’d like to explain what this treatment involves.  During the first phase of treatment, I received two drugs: Bendamustine (Treanda) and Rituxan.  For maintenance treatments, I’m only getting Rituxan.  Rituxan is a monoclonal antibody that targets only cancerous cells and leaves the other cells alone.  I’m anticipating the side effects from it being less severe than when I received both drugs.  I’m expecting to only experience some fatigue for a few days and then bounce back a little faster than before.

It’s going to be a very good day.  :)

I hope every single one of you has a fantastic Friday and a beautiful weekend!
♥ Rachel

7 Responses to “Sending Cancer a Reminder”

  1. Becky Robinson March 2, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    Praying all goes well and you have a great weekend.

    Love,
    Becky

  2. The Savvy Sister March 2, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    Enjoy your weekend!

  3. tranquilmomentsphotography March 2, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Fantastic Friday to you too sunshine! Glad to see you NOT putting out the welcome mat for “cancer”. Wishing you a smooth even road on your next journey towards total wellness :)

    • joyce guy March 2, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      when i was told i had lung cancer i looked in the mirror and said out loud i got cancer but the cancer hasn’t got me hope this will help take each day as it comes remember we are fighters not quiters x

      • rachturner March 5, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

        That’s right, Joyce. Cancer does not have us!

  4. Cancer Warrior March 3, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    God Bless you, Rachel. Your positive attitude never ceases to amaze me! Have you read the work of Bernie Siegel? I am finding a lot of hope from reading his work. You gotta believe!
    Sending healing vibes your way,
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • rachturner March 5, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Hey Flo – I have read some of Bernie’s work and like him. You know it’s not always positive, but having this blog community of support certainly helps keep me focused more on the good than on the bad. Hugs to you for week 2 of radiation.

Leave a Reply

