Pollen is Not My Friend

27 Feb

Raise your hand if pollen and allergies are wrecking your life.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

It’s February, the tree pollen counts have been high or VERY high for the past 14 days (according to The Weather Channel), and my sinuses are begging for relief.  Oh, and it’s February!  What in the world?

Typically, February is the onset of tree pollen in Chattanooga with the peak arriving in late March.  If this is not the peak, I don’t know if I’ll be able to survive late March!  Have mercy.  :)

I took this photo at work on Thursday.  Normally, I would think this a lovely photo: the first sign of a long-awaited Spring is finally arriving.  But this time, I don’t feel that way.  Probably because IT’S NOT SPRING.  :)  That little bloom – and millions of others like it – are wreaking havoc on my eyes, nose, ears, and sinuses.  How can something so seemingly innocent and pretty be so evil??

So, here’s a question for you all.  How can you be congested and have a runny nose at the same time??  Anyone?  It’s got to one of the great mysteries of the world.

And we won’t even talk about the wicked sinus headache turned migraine that I had on Saturday except to say that I was so sick I lost 4 pounds between Friday and Sunday.  Not quite the weekend I was hoping for before I have my first maintenance chemo session, but it is what it is, right?

I’ve been thinking and thinking, trying to come up with a blessing in disguise for these allergies and the ensuing sickness that came with it, but for the life of me, I can’t come up with much.  Maybe the blessing is that we have beautiful trees to look at during a time of year when everything is usually gloomy and grey?  The only problem is that all of us with allergies have such blurry eyes that we can’t see and admire the trees!  ha ha!  :)

I hope that none of you are suffering with allergies or anything else today and that you had a fantastic weekend!
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Pollen is Not My Friend”

  1. Cancer Warrior February 27, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Wish I could feel sorry for you, Racel, but we are still up to our knees in snow here in Canada. Just kidding….I hope you are feeling better soon and can really enjoy that beautiful spring weather.
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • rachturner February 29, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Thanks, Flo! It’s been such a warm winter here that I’m wondering if we’re going to get pummeled by a snow storm in March.

  2. Jennifer Cooper February 27, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Here’s the blessing in disguise…you were able to share a very lovely, beautiful picture of a blooming tree (albeit…it’s blooming in FEBRUARY!!!). But to see God’s beautiful work is a true blessing.

    • rachturner February 29, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      You are so right, JC. Even if it does make me sneeze, God’s work is a beautiful thing.

  3. tranquilmomentsphotography February 27, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Pollen wouldn’t stand a chance here today. Buried in snow. Oh well guess that’s a perk of winter, we don’t get pollen during these months. Have a marvellous Monday :)

Leave a Reply

