[Guest Post] by Florence from Perks of Cancer

24 Feb

Today, we have a very special post written by Florence from the Perks of Cancer blog.  We don’t often associate cancer and perks, but Florence does a nice job of finding the unique little benefits of having cancer such as getting to ride shotgun or watching Mama Mia as many times as she wants.  :)   She asked me to write a post for her blog and my only request was that she do the same for us.  Her positive attitude is infectious and I think you will really enjoy what she is sharing with us today about her precious autistic son, Ben.  Thank you so much, Flo, for sharing your story with us!

I would like to thank Rachel for the opportunity to guest blog on her wonderful site.  Rachel and I are kindred spirits in many ways:  we both have cancer, we both blog about cancer and we both have chosen to approach cancer with a positive attitude.

My name is Florence.  I am a mother, a daughter, a “significant other”, a friend, and a Psychologist.  In April, 2011 I was diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer.  Following the initial shock, grief, and anger of my diagnosis, I came to an important realization.  It came to me as I was lying in bed after a particularly difficult chemo treatment, thinking, “WHY ME?  I am a good person, I take care of my body, heck, I even re-cycle and compost!  Why has God inflicted me with this disease?  It is so unfair.”  The thought suddenly came to me that I am not going to help myself recover by wallowing in anger and self pity.  Joy, love, laughter, and happiness are all healing vibrations, and that is where I need to spend my time. So I decided to focus on the positive aspects of having cancer.  I issued myself a challenge to find 100 Perks of Having Cancer, (www.perksofcancer.com)  and I am more than halfway there!  Below is one of those perks:

Perk # 28:  Cancer Has Revealed To Me A Whole New Side Of My Autistic Son

My six year old son, Ben, has Autism. While he is bright, his verbal skills are very limited. Generally, he talks only enough to express his basic needs. At this point, meaningful conversation with Ben is not possible. While he says very little, Ben recently learned to use the computer to express himself. Several times since I have been diagnosed with cancer, he has surprised me by bringing me type written notes (done without prompting) with messages like: “Dear Mom, you are nice” and “Dear Mom, I love you.” Sometimes I will find his notes lying around the house, with messages such as, “Mom is sick”, or “Mom is hurt.”

On a rare occasion, Ben will catch me off guard by speaking a full, meaningful sentence. Never was I more surprised than one night while putting him to bed, when he said to me, “Good night. Guardian angels watch over you and protect you.” Some might say he was just echoing something he had heard me say a hundred times before. True. But the miraculous part is that it is the one and only time I heard him speak those words, and it happened to be on the day I was diagnosed with breast cancer.

Ben may look like he is “in a world of his own”, but these gestures prove to me that he is a sensitive boy who is very much aware of what is happening in my world.

You can find other Perks at my site: www.perksofcancer.com

***********

Thank you so much, Flo, for this beautiful post.  If you are reading this today, I would love it if you would leave a comment for her, either here or on her site, with a word of encouragement as she continues to be a warrior and fight cancer.  You all have been such an encouragement to me – I know she would appreciate your kind words, too.
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “[Guest Post] by Florence from Perks of Cancer”

  1. Simply Tia February 24, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Rachel, I started following Florence a few days ago and read several of her blog posts. I was immediately inspired. I love her optimism (quite like hers) and she just makes you want to look on the sunny side of life! I love that. I am grateful for the day I visited your blog Rachel. I’ve learned some important lessons and came to some great realizations.

    Florence, I want to wish you all the best on your journey. Your son sounds like a joy to have around. Thanks for sharing another great perk of cancer. I love your spirit!

    • rachturner February 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Hey Tia – Flo’s site is great! So glad you are following her, too. Thank you so much for being one of my “regulars.” I am honored that you enjoy the site.

  2. tranquilmomentsphotography February 24, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    She does indeed have an infectious attitude and I follow her bogs regularly.

    Have a grand day :)

    • Cancer Warrior February 25, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      Thank you Rachel, for this opportunity. My internet has been down for a few days so this is my first chance to respond. Marie talks about your guest post to my blog in her Friday Round up: “Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer”. Check it out!
      Cancer Warrior/Florence
      http://www.perksofcancer.com

      • rachturner February 26, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

        You are so welcome, Florence! I’ve had several people tell me in person how much they enjoyed your post. Thank you for telling mea bout Marie’s post – I will go check it out. Be well and strong!

    • rachturner February 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      She really does have an infectious attitude!

Leave a Reply

