An Undeserved Favor

21 Feb

I’m talking about the word “grace.”  It’s actually one of my favorite words, I think because at some point in my teen years I heard this definition of the word: “an undeserved favor.”

We hear the word grace used all the time, or at least in Christian circles we hear it frequently:

  • We say “grace” before meals.
  • We ask for God’s “grace” over our lives or a situation.
  • We say someone extended “grace” to us.
  • We say someone is full of “grace.”

But what does grace really mean?  How does it (or should it) impact our lives?  Is it something we earn?  If so, how?  Are we supposed to give grace or just receive it?

I’m going to talk a little bit more about grace in tomorrow’s post and ask you a few questions to get your thoughts because I, by no means, and am expert on this topic.  It’s just a subject that intrigues me.  Today, I want to give you some scripture and a few quotes that deal with subject of grace so that you can begin thinking about this topic.

Source: Pinterest

Grace isn’t a little prayer you chant before receiving a meal.  It’s a way to live. – Attributed to Jacqueline Winspear

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. – 2 Corinthians 12:9

It is delightfully easy to thank God for the grace we ourselves have received, but it requires great grace to thank God always for the grace given to others. – James Smith

But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: “God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.” – James 4:6

Man is born broken.  He lives by mending.  The grace of God is glue. – Eugene O’Neill, The Great God Brown, 1926

For sin shall no longer be your master, because you are not under the law, but under grace. – Romans 6:14

Hope is some extraordinary spiritual grace that God gives us to control our fears, not to oust them. – Vincent McNabb

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. – Ephesians 2:8-9

And if by grace, then it cannot be based on works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace. – Romans 11:6

Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed.  Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace and gratitude. – Denis Waitley

But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me. – 1 Corinthians 15:10

Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. – Hebrews 4:16

Everybody can be great.  Because anybody can serve.  You don’t have to have a college degree to serve.  You don’t have to make your subject and your verb agree to serve…. You don’t have to know the second theory of thermodynamics in physics to serve.  You only need a heart full of grace.  A soul generated by love. – Martin Luther King, Jr.

See you here tomorrow!
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “An Undeserved Favor”

  1. Cancer Warrior February 21, 2012 at 6:17 am #

    Grace is such a beautiful word. When I first got my diagnosis of cancer, I thought “I will fight as hard as I can to live, but if I am to die, I want to die with grace.” To me it means dignity, acceptance, and in-spirit.
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com
    p.s. I will be posting your guest post tomorrow!

    • rachturner February 21, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      I got a lump in my throat reading your comment – die with grace. I am hoping and praying that day is a LONG time from now for you. I’m excited about my post tomorrow! Thank for allowing me to do this!

  2. The Savvy Sister February 21, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    I especially like the word “Grace” because it’s my daughter’s name :)
    Thanks for the beautiful passages.

    • rachturner February 21, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      I love the name Grace! If I had a daughter of my own, it would have been on my short list for names.

Leave a Reply

