Faith Friday

17 Feb

I’m feeling a little under the weather tonight.  I think the random weather episodes we are having (windy and freezing one day, sunny and warm, the next) are wreaking havoc on my sinuses.  Therefore, my creative juices are not quite flowing this evening.  Because my head’s a little sore and a bit fuzzy tonight, I thought I would share something that I read this week about faith.

Source: Pinterest

I love My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers.  If you don’t have this devotional, get it.  Get it now!  :)  It’s thought-provoking and not one of those “make you feel all warm and fuzzy” devotionals – it’s real and full of truth, and is presented in such a different way that it forces you to stop and think.  I highly recommend it.  You can also read it online at My Utmost For His Highest.

I’ve read through this devotional so many times that I don’t read it in chronological order anymore, I skip around.  Today’s snippet comes from October 21, Discernment of Faith:

We have the idea that God rewards us for our faith, it may be so in the initial stages; but we do not earn anything by faith, faith brings us into right relationship with God and gives God His opportunity. God has frequently to knock the bottom board out of your experience if you are a saint in order to get you into contact with Himself. God wants you to understand that it is a life of faith, not a life of sentimental enjoyment of His blessings.

That last sentence really caught my attention.  This is a life of faith and not a life where we are to just sit around enjoying blessings.  There is so much more to it than that.  Enjoying blessings – as wonderful as that is – will not cause us to grow one inch closer to God.  We grow closer to God during the times when our faith is tested and stretched to its limit.

Chambers goes on to say,

Never confound the trial of faith with the ordinary discipline of life, much that we call the trial of faith is the inevitable result of being alive. Faith in the Bible is faith in God against everything that contradicts Him – I will remain true to God’s character whatever He may do.

Faith is faith in God no matter what, whether he answers our prayers the way we want him to, whether we sense his presence, or whether we understand his reasons.  It’s simply faith in God because he is God.

If you have faith as a mustard seed . . . nothing will be impossible for you.
Matthew 17:20

Hope you have a beautiful weekend!
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Faith Friday”

  1. Simply Tia February 17, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    If you have faith as a mustard seed . . . nothing will be impossible for you – Matthew 17:20

    I needed that this morning. Thanks Rachel.

    I hope your sinuses feel better!

    • rachturner February 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Thanks, Tia. Feeling much better today. :)

  2. Elizabeth Thomas February 17, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    In between my watery eyes and my sniffles (darn sinuses and allergies!), I am smiling. So needed this reminder as God has knocked th bottom board out of me. Well, I thought so, but I think it is just “the invevitable result of being alive.”
    Thank you my friend for this. You truly are a blessing.

    Love you! Mean it! :)

    • rachturner February 17, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      Elizabeth – THANK YOU. I’m sorry that the board has been knocked out of you, but I’m so glad these words helped. My prayer when I sit down to write something is that it either encourage, inspire, or motivate just one person OR that it make them laugh because I think laughter can be so healing and good for the soul. Thank you for hanging in here with me and continuing to read. Love you and mean it! :)

  3. Cancer Warrior February 17, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Very inspirational post, as usual. Thank you.
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

Leave a Reply

