What’s Love Got to Do With It?

15 Feb

No offense to Tina Turner, but love has everything to do with it.

With all the love floating in the air yesterday, I started thinking about that little four letter word.  Love is a simple, sometimes overused word, but it has some truly serious power behind it.  Have you stopped think about what it really means and how it impacts virtually every aspect of our lives?

Let’s start with the greatest example of love:

For God so loved the world (that would be us)
that he gave his one and only son (he gave up his only child)
that whoever (that would be us again)
believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life.
John 3:16

We may think we love our spouse or our children, but it pales in comparison to the love God has for us.  A love so strong that he was willing to place His son on this earth knowing that He would eventually die for our sins.  That’s some kind of love.

But what is love, really?  Is it a feeling?  Well, yeah.  We feel love for people and we feel loved by people – our spouses, children, parents, siblings, friends, even pets.  I definitely love my little cat, Pumpkin, and I am certain he loves me back.  Can’t you just see the love in his eyes?  (That’s also the same look he has when he’s annoyed with me so sometimes it’s hard to tell the difference.)  :)

Ok, back to the subject at hand.

Is love more than a feeling?  Absolutely.  Love is an action.  It’s a motivator.  It’s a choice.  It’s a healing balm.

Since being diagnosed with cancer, I’ve realized two things about love:

  1. I took for granted just how much I was loved, not only by my family, but also by God.
  2. Love kept me going, held me up, and made me stronger.

I took for granted how much I was loved because I was loved so much.  Growing up, I never doubted for one second that I was loved and loved deeply.  I was taught about God and I learned of His love for us through my parent’s example.  After getting married, I was even more sure of the fact that I was loved, now not only by my birth family, but by my husband, my stepdaughters, and my husband’s family.  But I took it for granted.  I never stopped to think about what a priceless gift that love is.

To love and be loved is to feel the sun from both sides.
David Viscott

Once the “word” was out about my cancer, I was flooded with cards, calls, emails, gifts, and text messages from people who love me and were praying for me and, to my amazement, this has continued throughout the entire journey.  The rock solid love of my husband kept me sane and grounded.  The love of my family literally held me up for most of the past year.  The love of God, my Father, has given me the most surreal peace from the very beginning as I trusted that he is in control of everything.

We cannot all do great things,
but we can do small things with great love.

Mother Teresa

Love is so incredibly powerful and one of the greatest gifts we can give and be given by any other person.  So, see, Tina?  Love has everything to do with it.  :)

If you didn’t get a chance to take yesterday’s poll on Valentine’s Day, hop over there and let me know where you stand.

♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “What’s Love Got to Do With It?”

  1. Cancer Warrior February 15, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    Beautiful post, Rachel. Love is a healing vibration.
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • rachturner February 15, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Thanks so much, Flo! A healing vibration – I like that.

  2. The Savvy Sister February 15, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    My favorite Mother Teresa quote! I L-O-V-E it!

    • rachturner February 15, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      I love that quote, too! Very powerful words, so simple, yet so true if we put them into action.

Leave a Reply

