A Prayer for the Rylak Family

13 Feb

My heart is sad today because cancer has taken a precious life.  This is not what I planned to write about today but it feels right given that a very sweet soul has left this earth and moved on to her heavenly home.  I think it is so important in the hurry up and get things done pace of this world to stop for a minute to honor the lives of those who have left us and say a prayer for those who are mourning.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

Ginny Rylak, wife, mother, daughter, and friend passed away yesterday morning with her husband, Al, and their two sons by her side.  Ginny and Al met in 1961 when she was 15 and he was 16.  They dated for seven years, married in 1968, and packed a lifetime of memories into their 43 short years of marriage.

I only had the pleasure of meeting Ginny once, just 14 short days ago, and I’m so glad that I did.  She was resting at home with her 3 year old granddaughter snuggled up next to her.  What a sweet, precious memory they were making together.  Her husband, Al, was so kind and warm, grateful for our visit.

You only have to spend a few minutes with Al or read a few lines of his emails about Ginny to understand how deeply he loved her.  His devotion to her did not waiver one minute throughout their entire fight against the horrible disease known as pancreatic cancer.  I pray that the memories of their life together will soon begin to fill the holes in his heart left by her absence.

If you don’t mind, please take a moment today to say a prayer for Ginny’s family.  Despite the fact that they knew this day would come, the sadness is still very overwhelming and the pain of their loss will remain with them for a long time.  They will have some hard days ahead as they forge on through this life without the woman who brought them all so much joy.

With much love and appreciation for all of you,
♥ Rachel

8 Responses to “A Prayer for the Rylak Family”

  1. The Savvy Sister February 13, 2012 at 5:17 am #

    So sad, but so nice that they loved so well

    • rachturner February 14, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      When I met Al, I could tell by the tears in his eyes how much he was already missing Ginny – and she was still with him at that time. I think they had a very special love.

  2. Simply Tia February 13, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    I’m going to pray for her husband and her son that they find the strength and the peace needed to cope with this very sad loss. May Ginny’s soul rest peacefully. Her life with her family sounds like it was filled with love and support. God bless them all.

    • rachturner February 14, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      Thank you so much, Tia, for remembering them in prayer. I know they appreciate it.

  3. Holly February 13, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    The Rylaks are our neighbors, Ginny will be missed by an entire town. Thanks for your beautiful entry.

    • rachturner February 14, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      Hi Holly. Thank you so much for commenting. My sympathies on the loss of your neighbor and friend. Jennifer shared with me what a special person Ginny was. I’m glad that Al has kind neighbors like you who will look after him now.

  4. Al Rylak February 24, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Thank you Rachel. This is even harder than I thought it was going to be. We all miss her so very much. The house is so quiet and I have no one to talk about the good and the bad things. Damn it.

    • rachturner February 26, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      Al – I am SO very sorry. I wish I had words that would make this loss easier on you and your family. I can’t imagine how different things are for you without her beautiful presence around. Please know that I am praying for you daily.

Leave a Reply

