January Goals Update

10 Feb

I’m a little behind on posting this, but for the purpose of holding myself accountable, I thought I should share my goals progress for January.  What’s the point in having goals if we don’t check in with ourselves to see how we are doing, right?

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

Reading Goal:

Spiritual Goals:

  1. Have 30+ minutes of quiet/prayer time each morning and write in my journal.
    I did this 28 of 31 days in January.  Not quite every day, but much more consistent than I had been, and there were some days that I spent much longer than 30 minutes, so I consider that progress.
  2. Read the Book of Proverbs.  Check!
    Did this and it was great reading one chapter a day which allowed me to better absorb what I was reading.
  3. Memorize two Bible verses.  Check!
    Proverbs 4:23 – Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.
    Proverbs 21:23 – He who guards his mouth and tongue keeps his soul from troubles.

Fitness/Exercise Goals

  1. Get back to riding 12 miles on the bike.
    This isn’t a January-appropriate goal (at least not for me) because it’s too cold to ride in January and I was out of town two weekends in the month – and weekends are our riding time.  So I made no progress in this area.
  2. 30 minutes of exercise, 5 days a week.
    My plan was not to get started back with this until February 8 after my checkup with the oncologist, so it was also not a January goal.  Funny how none of my exercise goals were for January!  :)
    Now that I’ve received a good report, I have to get serious about exercising again.  I can tell that my muscles are very weak from lack of use and from the chemo breaking them down.

Question Time

Do you write in a journal?  If so, do you have a process for doing this or do you just free write?  I’m so curious how other people approach this and what types of things you write about – just your thoughts, prayers requests, quotes from books you are reading, things you want to remember about the day, etc.

Source: Pinterest

One of my journaling challenges is that I feel like this is something that should be handwritten, but I hate to write – I would much rather peck something out on a keyboard.  My thoughts go so much faster than I can write (because I’m a super slow writer) that I get frustrated with the process and end up not writing everything I’m thinking (which is not always a bad thing – ha ha!!)  What’s a girl to do?  :)

What are your thoughts on journaling?  Ideas, suggestions, what’s worked for you, why you do or don’t journal – I’d love to hear from you about this subject.  Give me some tips!

Happy, HAPPY Friday!!!
♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “January Goals Update”

  1. Brenda McFarland February 10, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    Read Let Prayer Change Your Life and use the companion My Prayer Parter Notebook – by Becky Tirabassi Marvelous how she divides our prayer/journaling time into categories and explains how they should be done in certain order to achieve the utmost from our time and help us to draw close to Him. Lots of great tidbits too …. like I know you just finished Proverbs …. chcek out her acronym for PROVERBS …..
    People; advising us how to make
    Right choices and providing us the
    Opportunity to grow, with pertinant
    Verses for
    Every day.
    Read through all thirty-one chapters each month. Your hunger for the
    Bible will grow, and God’s
    Spirit will teach you wisdom and godliness.

    Her Prayer Partner Notebook helped me to learn how to journal by hand in a purposeful way … not rambling …. check it out when you have time. Love ya! Brenda

    • Brenda McFarland February 10, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      oh yeah, one more thing … she suggests that we begin our quiet time each day in praise for who God is. She goes on to say that she is constantly reminded of how big He is, how much He loves her, how awesome His creation is, and how forgiving He is.
      PRAISE then becomes the
      Purposeful
      Reverance and
      Awe of God’s
      Integrity and
      Sovereignty
      Eternally!

    • rachturner February 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      This is GREAT information! Thanks for sharing, Brenda. Exactly the kind of feedback I was hoping for. :) Hope you and the family are well!! Love ya!

  2. Kathy February 10, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    Rach – You might be interested in this type of journal. I have a 10 year one that Jenn gave me 3 years ago. Initially, I didn’t think it would work very well for me (keeping things brief that is, haha) because you only have about 3 lines for each day. However, being forced to be brief has helped me recognize what was really most important to me each day.

    In this journal all 10 years of a particular day are on the same page. At first, I wondered if 2-3 lines would really be enough but as the years started to accumulate I found that I was generally not really interested in reading more than a few lines about various days in the past years anyway. It usually brings a chuckle, a smile or a warm fuzzy feeling and you move on.

    As a side note – I’ve had to resort to a separate and much larger journal over the past few months because…well, just because. I’ll be able to get back to the 10 year book in due time and I’m looking forward to it.

    Since you don’t like to hand write very much but feel like a journal should be handwritten this just might be a way to have the best of both worlds. If you’re interested, ask Jenn where she got it. It seems like I remember that it’s only available online.

    If this type of journal doesn’t sound like it will work for you maybe you could type your journal pages, print them out and keep them in a binder with a cover of your own art.

    Love you, Kathy

    • rachturner February 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      That’s a great idea for a journal – not sure I could get all my thoughts and prayers onto 2 or 3 lines each day. It feels like such a commitment – 10 years! ha ha!! Typing them and then printing them might work for me, though. Good idea. :) Love you much!

Leave a Reply

