Good Lab Results!

9 Feb

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

I went for labs and a doctor visit yesterday.  I am SO happy to report that my counts are the best they’ve been in more than six months – prior to starting chemotherapy!  This would explain why I’ve been feeling so good lately.  They weren’t perfect, but they were pretty close.  Yay!!!  Doc says he expects the numbers to stay close to where they are now throughout maintenance treatments.  He also said, being the optimist that he is, “I think this is just going to be a blip in your life and is not going to define your life.”  Ok, we’ll go with that theory!

As if that wasn’t enough good news, he called me skinny!  Although, in full disclosure, he wasn’t talking about me in general, but about my collar bone area, which admittedly is very bony compared to the rest of me.  I had noticed, now that the swelling around the port site is completely gone, that a tiny little part of the port tubing or something like that seems to be poking up almost like it’s going to poke through the skin.  I pointed it out to him and at first he thought it was a stitch, but I didn’t have stitches – just glue.  That’s when he said, “you’re skinny,” meaning that I don’t have much fatty tissue to hide all the wires and such in.  Well, I’ll take a skinny complement any day, I don’t care if he is just talking one tiny little part of my body.  ha ha!!

So, my next steps are a CT scan on 2/29 and chemo on 3/2.  Until then, I do not have to go to the doctor, get my blood checked – NOTHING – as long as my body behaves itself.  It’s like a 3 week vacation!!  Woohoo!!!!!

I met another “friend” in the waiting room yesterday.  This nice man is being treated for lung cancer and it’s his second time to go through treatments because the cancer came back after the first treatment cycle.  Uuugggghhhh.  That’s tough.  Stop and think about that for a minute.  He completed treatment and thought he was “good to go.”  But the cancer came back.  Not what he was hoping or expecting at all.  Yet he is forced to deal with this new situation.  He could have been sitting there like a Grumpy Gus, but he wasn’t.  He was chatty and friendly.

He looked pretty good, but said the treatments had been pretty hard on him, especially with 35 radiation treatments following surgery and chemo – wow!  He also mentioned that his wife usually comes with him, but she was at home recovering from being in the hospital for two weeks due to a brown recluse spider bite!!  The bite was on the back of her neck and they had to cut a huge section of skin and tissue in order to get all of the infection.  All I could think was, WOW!  I cannot believe what you guys have been going through.  Makes my situation feel like a walk in the park.

Source: Pinterest

If I passed this man on the street or saw him walking in the mall, I would never, ever know how hard his life is right now.  He smiled when he talked and did not seem bitter or angry or even sorry for himself.  I wouldn’t blame him at all if he were a walking pity party!  He did say that if “it” came back again, he probably wouldn’t treat it.  Another wow moment for me.  It was another reminder of  “easy” my treatments have been compared to what some have had to endure.  If  the treatment of a disease is so bad that you would rather let the disease run its course knowing it will most likely take your life, the treatment must be pretty bad.

And once again, I will say, it could always be worse.  No matter what situation we are facing, it could always, always be worse.  All we have to do is look around us and see this to be true.

Think of something you are grateful for and have a Thankful Thursday!
♥ Rachel

8 Responses to “Good Lab Results!”

  1. The Savvy Sister February 9, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    Think of something you are grateful for …..
    There isn’t enough room on the internet

    • rachturner February 10, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      There isn’t enough room on the internet – I LOVE that. :) You are very inspiring.

  2. mainelyhopeful February 9, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Great news :)

  3. Jim Fugate, a West Virginia admirer February 9, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    It’s great to get the latest on your recovery. I’ve missed them. You keep the positive attitude as that promotes healing!

    Should you see the man you mentioned, encourage him to keep that positive attitude. He’s to be admired given this is his second time around with cancer treatments.

    • rachturner February 10, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks, Jim! I hope you are doing very well.

  4. Jennifer February 9, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    I love that quote about throwing all your problems in a pile! It is so true – there is ALWAYS someone who has it worse that us on our worst day!

    Love you!
    Jennifer

    • rachturner February 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      J – SO true. We wouldn’t want what others have to deal with and most likely are not equipped to handle it.

Leave a Reply

