Dear Mom

7 Feb

Today is your birthday and I want you to know how much you mean to me.

We’re more alike than I ever wanted to admit as a kid.  I’m not sure why that was, but I think most kids go through stages where they feel like the last person they want to resemble is their  parent.  Now that I’m older, and a teensy, tiny bit wiser, I realize being like you is a privilege, an honor, and a blessing.  You are a priceless gift, not only to me, but to our whole family.

If I could go back and have a conversation with 12 year old Rachel, it would probably go something like this:

Hey Rach,

As you get older, try to keep in mind that your mom is not your enemy, but she’s also not here to be your friend – at least not yet.  That can come later.  She has a job to do first and that is to love you, protect you, and raise you in a godly home.  I promise you she doesn’t wake up each morning thinking of ways to make your life miserable.  On the contrary, she wakes up each morning praying for you, for your well-being and for your happiness.  You don’t realize or even notice she does this because you are too busy thinking about yourself (like most kids), but the truth is that you are deeply loved by the woman who gave you life.

Try not to take for granted all the times that you need her to do something, and she does it for you without complaining.  She doesn’t do things for you because she has to, but because she wants to.  As you become a teenager, you will crave your independence and will be easily annoyed by her slightest efforts to maintain a relationship with you.  Don’t push her away so hard.  One day you will realize how important this relationship is to both of you.

The days are not too far away when you will be completely convinced that you know everything and she knows nothing about life and what it’s like to be a teenager, but you forget. She was once a teenager, too, with hopes and dreams, and a desire for independence herself.  She’s an intelligent woman, moreso than you give her credit for being. One day soon, you will realize this.

When you are tempted to lie to her, think twice, my little friend. God has blessed her with one of those mother radars that go off whenever their children are telling a lie. Remember the 2nd grade and how that one backfired on you? They will ALL backfire on you. Trust me on this.  :)

There will be days when it frustrates you that your mother knows you as well as she does, that she can tell what you are thinking or even know when you are about to catch a cold just by looking at the way your mouth is drooping to one side.  Only a mother would notice such a thing.  She has watched you with prayer-filled eyes since the first moment she held you.  Cherish being known that way.  Not every child is so blessed.  Appreciate the fact that she loves you enough to care about the details of your life and try not to be annoyed by her watchful gaze.  She is looking at you through eyes of love and wonder.

One day, you will move away and have a life and family of your own and you will long for the comfort of her presence.  Then you will miss the assurance of her being close by and will cherish every minute you have with her.  Enjoy your time together now.  It will pass quickly.  Trust me on this. I know.

Love,
Your Future Self

I love you, Mom.  I hope you have the most beautiful birthday.  You deserve it.
♥ Rachel

8 Responses to “Dear Mom”

  1. Simply Tia February 7, 2012 at 5:10 am #

    Very beautiful letter! Happy Birthday to your lovely Mom!

  2. Becky Robinson February 7, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    She is a truly awesome lady as are all three of her daughters. My life has been truly blessed by her being my friend. It has been wonderful to have your whole family as part of our life–more like family than anything else. Hope your birthday was good.

    Love you,
    Becky

    • rachturner February 8, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Becky – I’m so glad that mom has life long friends like you and Jeanette to love her up close every day. Have a wonderful day! Love you, too.

  3. Kathy February 7, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Mom, I was going to call you as soon as I got home from work and now….I read this :) Now I’ll have to call you when I run out of Kleenex!

    Rach, You are such a gifted writer. You put it in forever kind of words and it’s all so true. You may get some of that from Uncle James, he sure had a way with words too.

    • rachturner February 8, 2012 at 8:18 am #

      K – You’re so silly! I think you’re just a wee bit biased about my writing, but thank you anyway. :) Love you!!

  4. Rochelle February 7, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I felt a like a bit of an intruder reading this beautifully written, heartfelt letter to your mum but I felt like I had to leave a comment letting you know you are truly blessed. As you mentioned ‘Not every child is so blessed.’ You and your mum are very lucky to have each other.

    • rachturner February 8, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      Rochelle – You’re not intruding at all! Thank you, not only for stopping by and reading, but for leaving such a sweet comment! You are welcome here anytime. :)

Leave a Reply

