376,680 Hours

6 Feb

Our birthdays are feathers in the broad wing of time.
– Jean Paul Richter

In 1969, on a little island off the southeast coast of China called Taiwan, my mom gave birth to her third child – a 7 pound, 15 ounce girl.  As of yesterday at 11:13 pm, I’ve been alive for 376,680 hours.  That works out to 43 years.

How in THE WORLD did I get to be FORTY-THREE YEARS old??

Have mercy.

You remember how when you were younger you thought people in their forties and fifties were so OLD?  Yeah, I don’t feel that way anymore.  :)  43 is very, VERY young.

Yesterday was great in every way.  I felt really good (it’s been more than 4 weeks since I had chemo so I am cruisin’ these days!), I wasn’t tired or sick, and I just felt blessed to be alive and able to enjoy the day.

From the way back closet, here’s a pic of me at five days old.  I still sleep just like that.  And I still love sleep as much as I did at five days of age.  Some things change a lot in 43 years – that is not one of them.  Ha ha!

It kind of stops me in my tracks when I think back to May of last year and how different things could be right now.  It makes this birthday very meaningful.  My sister has a sweet neighbor who is in the final stage – final days even – of pancreatic cancer.  The realization that my diagnosis could have been very different than what it is is not lost on me.  It is a sober reminder of just how fragile these beautiful lives we’ve been given truly are.

To each of you who have helped make this past year so much better than it could have been – thank you from the bottom of my heart.  I am so thankful for each of you, your encouragement, your friendship, and your prayers!

There’s nothing fancy or special about turning 43 except that this is probably the most hard-earned birthday I’ve ever had.  Let’s see if I can make the next 376,000 hours even better than the first!

Thanks to modern medical advances such as antibiotics, nasal spray, and Diet Coke, it has become routine for people in the civilized world to pass the age of 40, sometimes more than once.
– Dave Barry

Have a Marvelous Monday!!
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “376,680 Hours”

  1. Jennifer Cooper February 6, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    Happy belated birthday!!! Glad it was a GREAT one!

    • rachturner February 8, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Thanks, JC! It was a great one.

  2. The Savvy Sister February 6, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Happy late B-Day!

  3. mainelyhopeful February 6, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

