Review: The Moderne Hotel NYC

3 Feb

We’ll just go ahead and finish out this week with yet another post about NYC, if you can stand it.  :)

For our one night in NYC, we stayed at The Moderne Hotel located at 55th and Broadway in midtown, just four blocks south of Central Park.  It’s not your traditional hotel, but is a small, boutique style property with just 35 rooms.  The decor was, well, modern – as you would expect with a name like The Moderne Hotel, huh?

Photo Source: ModerneHotelNYC.com

Pros

  1. Very affordable for NYC at $159/night.
  2. Super comfortable bed and pillows.
  3. Great location (within walking distance of Central Park, Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall, shops such as Sur la table, Lee’s Art Shop (which is a FANTASTIC store for anyone with a creative/artistic side), Mackenzie-Childs, and restaurants (famous Carnegie Deli) and bakeries on every corner.
  4. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and responsive.  After fighting with the bathroom light switch for a few minutes, I called the front desk to find out how to use the silly thing.  Within minutes, someone came up there to show me.  Before you laugh, Jennifer couldn’t figure it out, either!  :)  It was a very tricky light switch!

Cons

  1. Super tiny room.  Since my sister stayed the night with me, it was a bit crowded.  Probably would have been fine for just one person.  Because the window and air conditioner/heater was behind the bed, the bed sort of sat in the middle of the room making it feel a bit awkward.
  2. Bathroom was not very functional with a wall-mounted sink plus a shower that was not separated from the sink and toilet by a wall, piece of glass or even a curtain – it was all just one open room.  After the shower, everything in the bathroom was either wet or very damp.  There was virtually no surface area for toiletries and such.
  3. Less than ideal lighting conditions with one somewhat dim overhead light, a desk lamp, and a nightstand lamp.  Maybe it’s just a sign of my old age that I need brighter lights!
  4. Loud dripping noise above us that went on all night.  Assuming this had something to do with it being an older building, old pipes, maybe something like that??
Here’s a few pictures I took while there.  All the hallways had this wallpaper.  Some floors had red, some had blue, some had yellow, but they all had the picture frame design.  Very different and pretty cool.

And this was our room with a view of some stairs and a few other buildings.  You can see the AC unit behind the bed which pushed the bed out toward the middle of the room allowing for minimal walkways.

Another angle of the room from the corner where the desk was located.  That was one seriously comfortable bed.  Just the right amount of smooshiness, soft bed linens, and a fluffy bed cover.

And here’s the unique bathroom.  I thought it might have been a handicapped bathroom, but it seems that all of them were this way.

This is the sum total of the surface space we had to place our toiletries.  I had to move all of these items and sit them on top of the AC unit just to make room for our stuff.  You couldn’t sit things on the floor because the floor ended up getting pretty wet during the shower.

A friend asked me if I would stay there again and I said no.  The more I think about it, though, I think I would change my answer to maybe.  I wouldn’t mind paying a little more for something more traditional (I love my Marriotts and Hyatts and Hiltons, etc.!), but for the location and the price, it was a decent place to stay.  Everyone knows NYC lodging is pricey, so I don’t think this was bad for the $$.  Being the connoisseur of fine hotels that I am (ha ha!), I would give them exactly 2.5 stars (out of 5).

It’s Friday, ya’ll!  Have a wonderful weekend!!

♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Review: The Moderne Hotel NYC”

  1. mainelyhopeful February 3, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Nice, but that hallway would have made me dizzy. Yikes!

    • rachturner February 3, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      Susan – It was definitely different! And yes, it could make you dizzy easy. :)

  2. Kathy February 3, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Did it not make you dizzy to walk down that hallway? It makes me very dizzy just to look at. OK, I have to ask…how did you manage to keep the toilet paper dry since (in the picture) it’s smack-dab next to the shower with no curtain.

    Your light switch ordeal is a funny reminder of how it was when I was in France and Germany. I actually had to ask Chris how to flush the toilet! There was no knob, button, no anything that remotely appeared to be a “flusher thingy” and it wasn’t automatic.

    • rachturner February 3, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      K – I actually took the toilet paper off the roll and sat it on the far side of the toilet bowl lid. There’s no way it would have stayed dry.

      I felt like such a blonde when he showed me how easy it was to use the light switch! So how did you flush the toilet?

      • Kathy February 6, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

        The lid had a square area on the right side that you depressed. Trouble was that at first glance it was just all white, so it looked like one solid piece. I’m used to chrome on the left side.

      • rachturner February 8, 2012 at 8:10 am #

        How odd.

Leave a Reply

