Isabelle: One Happy Dog

2 Feb

I introduced you to my sister’s dog, Isabelle, on Monday, and since then, I’ve received several requests for more Isabelle photos from all you dog lovers to there.  She is the sweetest dog – so happy to see you (like a lot of dogs) and just wants to be near someone all the time.  As the contractor who is working on Jenn’s kitchen said, “that’s one happy dog.”  He was so right, she is a happy little (big) girl.

She tried to lick me to death (and I can’t stand dogs licking my face – yuck!), so she would follow me around licking the tops of my feet, which tickled like crazy.  She’s just like a big, fluffy, stuffed animal – that moves…and eats…and romps through the house.   :)

So, here’s Isabelle in all her glory.

Dogs are miracles with paws.
– Attributed to Susan Ariel Rainbow Kennedy

Look at those paws! They're huge and adorable all at the same time.

Happiness is a warm puppy.
– Charles M. Schulz

This is Isabelle and Jackson. I just love that face and all that hair!

We long for an affection altogether ignorant of our faults.
Heaven has accorded this to us in the uncritical canine attachment.
– George Eliot

Bailey and Isabelle. They kind of look a like, no?

Scratch a dog and you’ll find a permanent job.
– Franklin P. Jones

Bail and Isabelle again. You would think she wouldn't like this, but she loved every second of it.

You think dogs will not be in heaven?
I tell you, they will be there long before any of us.
– Robert Louis Stevenson

She'll let you hold her like a baby. A very large baby. :)

So that’s the Best of Isabelle – January 2012.  You can’t help but fall in love with her.  And what I love most about her is how happy she makes my sister and her family.

I talk to him when I’m lonesome like; and I’m sure he understands.  When he looks at me so attentively, and gently licks my hands; then he rubs his nose on my tailored clothes, but I never say naught thereat.  For the good Lord knows I can buy more clothes, but never a friend like that. – W. Dayton Wedgefarth

Happy Thursday Folks!
♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “Isabelle: One Happy Dog”

  1. mainelyhopeful February 2, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    What an armful! Adorable pup :)

    • rachturner February 3, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      Susan – An armful is right. It cracked me up how she liked being held like that. I expected her to fight me and want to get down.

  2. The Savvy Sister February 2, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    Lucky dog!

  3. Jennifer Cooper February 2, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    My fave pic is the one of you holding her…that is hilarious!!! I think you need an Isabelle…actually, I’m not sure Pumpkin would go for that!

    • rachturner February 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      JC – You are so right – Pumpkin would not go for an Isabelle. I would love to have a dog, but they are so much more work than a cat.

  4. Kathy February 2, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Cute, cute, cute, cute, cute!! These are great pictures Rach. It did me a world of good to see the pure joy on your face in the last picture.

    The “face licking” she gave you actually has a name specific to her breed. It’s known as the “Wheaten greetin”.

    • Jennifer February 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      That is right – Wheaten Terriers are known for their greeting of people because they are so happy!! She has been a great addition to our home after the loss of our sweet Dora last year.
      Isabelle is a Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier that is washed and blow dried so her hair is a little straighter than most. Here is a site for all kinds of wheaten terriers if you are interested.

      http://www.wheatenterrierrescue.org/AdoptionPage.html

      Jennifer

      PS Miss you Rachel!

      • rachturner February 3, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

        J – Miss you, too!!! Isabelle is quite a star – everyone wants one now that they’ve seen her. :)

    • rachturner February 3, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      K – It’s not just that she needed to lick your face, her tongue is about a foot long so you really got quite a lick from her! ha ha!! Although I don’t know which was worse, tickling my feet or slobbering on my face. :)

Leave a Reply

