Courage Does Not Always Roar

26 Jan

Courage comes in all shapes and sizes, no doubt.  Many things that we assume require courage actually do not.  For example, having cancer requires no courage at all, yet people say to me that I am courageous.  Going through treatment does not make me courageous, it makes me hungry…for life.  It makes me desperate to do whatever I can to make sure I get to live the full life that I hope has been planned for me.  It does not make me courageous, it simply makes me willing.

I think most days, life for ALL of us, requires a good deal of faith and courage.  Faith to trust that God is in control and does absolutely, without-a-doubt have out best interests at heart and the courage to step out in faith and believe Him at His word.

However, courage is not always a big, bold action.  Sometimes, it’s a little tiny voice inside you each morning that says you’re going to give it another try.  Sometimes, it’s a simple statement: “yes, Lord.”  Sometimes it’s speaking with a very shaky voice words that need to be said.  Courage is looking your fear in the face and saying, “not today.”

Source: Pinterest

Speaking of courage, I have a sweet new blog friend named Tara who writes over at createdtobebeautiful.  Tara has been through some trials and is is exhibiting a great deal of courage through it all.  She has a very kind heart and makes a beautiful effort at seeing the good in each day.

Tara is giving away a copy of the Courageous DVD that was just released this week (I think)!  It’s by the makers of the movies Fireproof, Facing the Giants, etc.  I haven’t seen the movie, but plan on watching it.  I’ve heard it’s good.  If you’d like to enter the drawing, hop over to her blog and leave a comment for her, but don’t waste any time – the contest ends January 31.

Good luck and I hope you win!
♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “Courage Does Not Always Roar”

  1. Kathy January 26, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Rach,

    Read the definition of courage…”Mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear or difficulty”.

    You are correct, actually having cancer does not require courage. However, I believe fighting that cancer surely requires all the courage a person can summon and then some.

    People tell you that you’re courageous not because you have cancer but because of their own personal observation of the way you are fighting/handling this disease.

    What you see as the only possible way you could have responded to having this disease (the Smith Girl way) actually is courage! It’s the way we were raised, it’s what we we’ve been taught all of our lives…to rise above things, lead don’t follow. It’s courage that some people simply aren’t able to summon from within and that’s OK, too. That’s why I think this blog is so great…because you can share some of your “excess courage” with those who may not otherwise have near enough.

    You, my dear sweet baby sister are very, very courageous and I love you for it!

    Kathy

    • rachturner January 26, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

      Kathy – You just made me cry. :) Maybe you’re right, it doesn’t seem courageous to me because that’s just how I am (we are). It just seems to me that there are so many others who are WAY more courageous than myself. You come to mind because of all that you’re going through and the grace with which you are handling everything. Love you and am so grateful for your encouragement!

  2. createdtobebeautiful January 28, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    The comment above says so much of what I was going to write!! You are very courageous, Rachel; never think otherwise. Not only do you have a hunger for life and a willingness to fight for it, you have the courage to Trust in the Almighty for each day… the good, the bad and the ugly. You have the courage to put your Faith in Him even when you don’t understand Him or know the future He has planned for you. You have the courage to write words on your blog to not only show what you are experiencing, but to encourage others all around you. You are a very amazing, strong person who is looking cancer in the eye and not backing down! You are the very definition of Courageous!!! Much love and prayers to you, as always!!! Tara :)

    • rachturner February 1, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Tara – Said one courageous girl to another, huh? You are too sweet! YOU are inspiration to me and I am so proud of you for sharing your life the way you do so that others can see that beauty can come from pain. Hope you are having a wonderful week!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Farewell 2012 and a Big, Fat Thanks! « Blessings in Disguise - December 31, 2012

    […] 1. Courage Does Not Always Roar […]

Leave a Reply

