Relying on God’s Promises

24 Jan

Life is hard.  You’re shocked to learn this, aren’t you??  :)

You don’t have to have cancer for it to be hard.  That’s just one of a million ways life can be almost too tough to handle some days (or months or years).  Based on the emails I receive from many of you, I know that you are struggling with big issues and little issues (that feel big) at this very moment.

It can feel overwhelming.

We worry.  We stress.  We have trouble sleeping.  Our hearts our anxious.  But it doesn’t have to be this way.  And, truthfully, it shouldn’t be.

When we worry, we are saying to God that we don’t trust Him to handle what’s going on in our life.  We are, what Andy Stanley jokingly refers to as, “little faithers.”  We have little faith that God cares for us and will intervene in our situation.

Source: Pinterest

We know, without any doubt, that we will face difficulties, trials, struggles, and pain in this life.  God tells us that He will be with us through all of it.  But it sure is hard to break those habits of worry  and stressing over situations and circumstances in our lives.

To help myself, and any of you who are interested, I’ve put together some of my favorite reassurance verses.  These verses help to calm my spirit when it gets all frazzled and remind me that God, indeed, cares about the smallest details of my life as well as the biggest, life-altering issues.

Phillipians 4:6
Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Matthew 6:34
Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

John 14:27
Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Psalm 46:10
He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

The “be still” part is so hard for me.  I’m not a still person.  I’m a problem-solver, a fixer, a do-er.  It’s tough to be still, but often in the stillness – when we step out of the way and let Him work – is when He does His work without us as an obstacle.

If you are struggling with worry and fretting over something today, I hope one of these verses will comfort and encourage you.

And when all else fails, do as Mark Twain suggested, “drag your thoughts away from your troubles… by the ears, by the heels, or any other way you can manage it.”  Sounds like a good plan, huh?

Happy Tuesday!  Hope your day is beautiful!!
♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “Relying on God’s Promises”

  1. Becky robinson January 24, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Thank you for these beautiful verses. What you say is so true and hit home with me. Our music director and his wife sang a song Sunday that was so beautiful and uplifting. It was “God on the Mountain”. I had never heard it before but the words are so good. I found it on line by Lynda Randle. It will really lift you up. Have a wonderful day.

    Love you!!

  2. Jennifer Cooper January 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Good post today – well, they are all good but this one came when I needed it most. Alan’s grandmother passed away today after a rough few months AND I have jury duty this week AND we are buying a “new to us” house and I’m worried about whether we made the right decision in doing so. As you can see, I needed some “reassurance verses”. Thanks for being my angel in disguise today.

    • rachturner January 26, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      Jenn – I’m so sorry about Alan’s grandmother. You definitely have cause for anxiety this week! Praying for all of you that you will feel peace about your home decision. Hang in there!

  3. Anita May 6, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    This is wonderful. These days are very stressful but when we know we have someone whom we can rely upon this is just awesome. God has promised never to leave or forsake us. Thanks for this timely reminder.

Leave a Reply

