Want to Make This a Great Friday?

20 Jan

Fridays are pretty good days to begin with.  It’s the end of the work week for most of us and we have two free days staring us in the face.  I love Friday nights with the whole weekend still stretched out in front of me.  But what if you could make this Friday even better than most?  You might have to do a few things differently.

I’m giving you a challenge this Friday and I’m giving myself this same challenge.

Step 1:  Don’t say “I’m so glad it’s finally Friday,” just be thankful for your job.

Step 2:  Don’t think all day at work about how slow the day is passing.  We all know it passes slowly on Fridays.  This is nothing new.  :)

Step 3:  Here’s the real key to a great Friday – do something for another person with no expectation of getting anything in return.

Do something for someone who is on your mind.  We all have someone (or multiple someones) on our mind at any given time.  God puts them there for a reason.  Seriously, He does.  They do not just randomly pop into your head, especially if it is someone who is going through a difficult time.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,
the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,
who comforts us in all our troubles,
so that we can comfort those in any trouble
with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

So, here’s my challenge for you and you have to do it today, preferably as soon as possible.  Don’t put it off until tomorrow or next week because you’ll forget.  Trust me, I know this from experience. {sheepish grin}

  • Write them a note or send a card.
  • Call them to see how they are doing and let them know you were thinking about them.
  • If you work with that person, pick up their favorite coffee or a Hardee’s biscuit on your way to work and surprise them.
  • Buy someone’s lunch today.
  • If it’s a young mom, offer to watch her kids for an hour or two today or over the weekend so she can have some time to run errands or do something fun for herself.
  • Bake someone a cake or a pan of brownies.  It doesn’t get any easier than making a pan of brownies and WHO doesn’t love a warm pan of chocolate goo??
  • Maybe it’s as simple as sending an email to someone you know who is struggling physically or emotionally today and could use a word of encouragement.

The effort or expense doesn’t have to be grand, but the thought and love behind it will mean more to the recipient than you will most likely ever know.  Don’t we all like to feel loved and special?

I absolutely guarantee that if you do one of these things (or something else even more wonderful for another person), not only will they feel good and loved, but YOU will feel fantastic, as well!

Here’s a song to get you going on your challenge.  Now, THIS.  This music will get you moving.  If it doesn’t, you might want to check your pulse just to make sure you actually breathing this morning.  I’m just sayin….  :)

(If you’re reading this in email, you may have to click on the video image and hop over to the blog to actually get the video to play.)

This is going to be a good morning.  Why?  Because Mandisa and tobyMac say so, silly!

Have a wonderful weekend!
♥ Rachel

7 Responses to “Want to Make This a Great Friday?”

  1. Becky Robinson January 20, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    You are such a blessing for anyone reading your blog. I grow to love you more each day, After reading this and listening to the song, I know I will have a fantastic day. Why? Because you told me to. lol Have a blessed weekend.

    • rachturner January 20, 2012 at 8:55 am #

      Becky – You are sweet! Thank you. :) Your sister has been commenting, too – I love it!

      • Becky Robinson January 20, 2012 at 11:53 am #

        She told me she was going to. I told several people about this site and everyone says it is a wonderful way to start the day. How can we ever be down when you are always so “up” even when you feel bad. Sending you hugs for today wish I could give them to you in person.

  2. IamSimplyTia January 20, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    Very thoughtful ideas. Will employ as many as I can!

    Have a great day Rachel!

    • rachturner January 20, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      Same to you, Tia, and a wonderful weekend as well!

  3. Elizabeth Thomas January 20, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Practicing random acts of kindness and paying it forward – you my friend are just lovely. I may just have to make Mondays my pay it forward day – that way people will smile on a day that a lot of people DON’t look forward too. That being said, today, I texted several friends this morning a simple “Just sending you a little love today”, paid for my friend’s lunch, and donated to another friend’s charity.

    You are wonderful in your spirit to grow this year my dear. Just wonderful – and I dare say, a lot of your friends, are going to grow right along with you.

    Hugs and love,
    Elizabeth

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend in Savannah! « Blessings in Disguise - January 23, 2012

    […] many of you accepted Friday’s challenge and did something nice for someone else?  You don’t have to tell me what you did, I just hope […]

Leave a Reply

