My Turning Point

19 Jan

This year is a turning point for me.

I guess something like cancer can do that to a person.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

Cancer woke me up like an annoying alarm clock and once I stopped hitting the clock and realized I really did have to get up and deal with it, I decided it was time to make some positive changes in my spiritual, mental, and physical approach to life.

Cancer, itself, is one big, HUGE negative that can consume your life if you let it.  And there are times when you can’t help but let it because the illness or the side effects from treatment prevent you from doing anything else besides deal with it, live it, face it head on.

But when I have a choice, I’m not going to let it consume my life.

And today, I have a choice.

I can’t control cancer, but I can control my response to it.  My response today is, “what cancer??”  :)

I have no idea what the future holds for me, but do any of us?  We all know our days are numbered, from before we were even born.

To focus on all the possibilities that come with something like indolent follicular lymphoma is to steal precious hours and days from myself.  Instead of robbing Peter to pay Paul, it’s like robbing Rachel to pay cancer.  And cancer does not deserve to be paid.  It’s already taken as much as it needs to from me (and so many other people).

I know that cancer will be a part of my life for years to come, but so do a whole lot of other people.  I’m not special – I’m just one of many.  Too many.  I am going to do my very best to keep “it” from being a dominant part of my life.  I’m officially demoting it to its chronic condition status and praying that it plays nice and stays there for a long, l-o-n-g time.  :)  There are too many other good things that deserve greater prominence in my life to give that priority spot to something as insidious as cancer.

Maybe this year is a turning point for you, too, for whatever situation you are currently living through.  I found a little inspiration on Pinterest and I love, love, LOVE these words.  I hope they encourage or inspire you today to not let your BIG thing – whatever it may be – take over your life because you can make the decision that you won’t let it.

Source: Pinterest

Stronger, braver, kinder, unstoppable, and fierce!  Love that!!

I want to say a special thanks to my wonderful friend, Julia, who sent me the sweetest, most powerful prayer yesterday.  THANK YOU!  Your petition on my behalf flooded me with peace and renewed determination all at the same time.

I am incredibly blessed and so grateful for each of you.  Thank you for walking with me and for listening to me when I ramble on and on.  :)

Love you all.  Go out and be fierce today!
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “My Turning Point”

  1. mainelyhopeful January 19, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Love this :)

    • rachturner January 19, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Thank you. :) Be strong and fierce today! Cancer’s got nothing on you, Susan!

  2. SarahKL January 19, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Yes, you are most definitely fierce – especially when it comes to Auburn football… just sayin’. Haha! Love you Rach!

    • rachturner January 20, 2012 at 8:55 am #

      Sarah – Yes, I am fierce (and a little crazy!) when it comes to Auburn football! Love you, too!

Leave a Reply

