Keeping Track of Everything

17 Jan

I’m pretty much on cruise control these days.  Feeling very well with mild fatigue – no complaints at all.  :)  For the first time since this started, I’m not thinking about treatment (even though I know I have more coming up).  I’m just enjoying being “normal” for a while.

This is definitely the age of information overload, right?  Floods of lists, notes, contact information, emails, blogs, articles, news stories, and a hundred other things all come into our lives on a daily basis.  From research articles to my own medical reports & records to treatment details, I’ve collected a huge amount of information just on cancer related topics alone.  But whether you are a cancer patient or not, we all have tons of information to store.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

In the “old days,” we might have kept all of this information in paper file folders.  Yeah, I know, I still have plenty of file folders on my desk, so the old days really weren’t that long ago, huh?  More recently, maybe we’ve started keeping lots of information electronically within folders on our computer.  But now, there’s another option!

There is a tool that Barry and I both have been using for several months to keep track of important information we don’t want to lose.  The tool is called Evernote and it’s a pretty handy little gadget.

It’s basically an electronic notebook.  It allows you to create notebooks and within those notebooks, notes where the information is stored.  Evernote is easy to use and syncs with the web so that I can access the information from home, work, or via my Android phone (and iPhone if you have it).  AND, it’s free.  They do have a paid version for those who need more space, but the free version gives you quite a bit of storage and functionality.

Some of the things that I store and organize in Evernote are:

  • Recipes
  • Blog/Writing Ideas and Research
  • Cancer Related Articles and Information
  • Medical History
  • PDF Books
  • Family History
  • My Journal
  • Quotes
  • To Do List
  • Project Ideas
  • Contacts
  • Blog Articles
  • Gift Ideas

The possibilities are virtually endless.  You could organize pretty much anything your little heart desires in Evernote!  It also has an easy web clipper that lets you “clip” pages from websites and pull them directly into Evernote.  I love that it syncs with the web so that it is accessible anywhere.

If you like to have your information organized all nice and neat, you should check it out.  If you do, let me know what you think.

Happy Tuesday!
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Keeping Track of Everything”

  1. IamSimplyTia January 17, 2012 at 6:16 am #

    Thanks Rachel for telling me about Evernote. I just clicked the link to their site and will be getting it for my Macbook and also my iPhone!

    I’m also glad to hear you’re feeling very well these days. I hope that keeps up.

    Have a blessed day.

    • rachturner January 18, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Tia – Glad you are giving Evernote a try! There’s so much you can do with it.

  2. Betty Johnson January 18, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Good Morning, Rachel!!

    Thanks for the information. I will certainly get it and check it out even though I don’t have an I-Phone or any of those fancy phones. Right now I have file folders scattered everywhere, and I do mean everywhere, from my good intentions of going through and organizing. Anyone who knows me, basically my sister, Becky and daughter, Lydia, know what a joke that is. I have been doing this for years and it is really getting overwhelming to me now. Also, trying to find ANYTHING on my old-outdated computer is a challenge for me.

    Will let you know how it works for me.

    I have been so blessed by your web site and am happy to know that you are feeling better.

    Betty

    • rachturner January 19, 2012 at 8:36 am #

      Hi Betty! I hope that Evernote can help you bring a little organization to your piles. :) Just take baby steps – start with one thing, spend 30 minutes (or an hour if you can) on it and do that every day. You’ll eventually get it all under control! Thanks for commenting. I’m so glad you are reading the blog. Barry and I get to Jacksonville occasionally. He manages 8 Great American Cookie stores and one of his stores is at The Avenues Mall. Maybe I’ll get to meet you in person one day!

Leave a Reply

