Fitness/Exercise Goals for 2012

16 Jan

I felt good all weekend – no nausea and moderate fatigue.  Looks like I’ve definitely turned the corner to better days.  :)  Today is a special day.  My dad is celebrating his 77th birthday today.  Happy Birthday, Dad!!  I love you SO much!

Source: Pinterest

I’ve been struggling to decide on my fitness and exercise related goals for the year.  I think that’s largely because I haven’t felt great (or even good) until the past few days and it’s hard for me to think health & fitness when I feel yucky.  Now that I’m feeling better, I’ve been able to put some thought to it and I’ve selected a few goals that I’m going to strive for this year.

Let me add this disclaimer: I am not, nor have I historically been, an exerciser.  Sports was not my thing in school.  I am uncoordinated and generally disagree with the idea of sweat.  However, I know that without sweat, nothing can be accomplished in the area of physical fitness, so I’m learning to change my ways.  :)

I’m like so many people – I’ve taken my health for granted for most of my life.  Last year, prior to the cancer diagnosis, I really started working toward becoming healthier and more fit.  We were exercising (biking, walking, running) and making better choices with our meals.  Not just to lose weight (I had about 5-8 pounds I wanted to shed), but because I was starting to realize the importance of just being healthy inside.  This body will hopefully have to last me another 40 years or so and I need to be nicer to it if it’s going to get me there, right?

So let’s jump right in and see what Rachel’s going to accomplish this year with regard to fitness and exercise!  For me, it’s not just about losing weight because I’m at a pretty decent weight right now thanks to Mr. Lymphoma.  It’s about toning what I have and working out my heart so that I can grow (there’s that word again!) strong physically.

My primary exercise goal is to get back to riding 12 miles on the bike.  Barry and I had made it to this point before I was diagnosed and started chemo.  I think I can make it back to this even with maintenance chemo to go through.  I’m at least going to give it my best effort.  I hate riding because it’s hard and the hills absolutely kill me, but I love it at the same time and I especially love how it makes me feel and how it tones my legs.

Source: Pinterest

Biking’s not enough, though, because we usually only get to ride on Saturdays, so I need some other exercise goals to go with it.  I’m going to keep this one simple and have a goal of working out 30 minutes each day, 5 times a week.  I will do this in the morning before work and will alternate between treadmill, elliptical and strength training exercises.  If I don’t do it in the morning, it won’t get done.  I know myself.  This.is.how.it.has.to.happen.

And that’s it for my fitness goals.  Pretty simple, nothing too complicated, yet still a stretch for me but something I believe I can attain.

On a completely separate note, if you have selected your Word for the Year, hop over to The Lettered Cottage today and join Kevin & Layla’s This Little Word of Mine Link Party.  Should be interesting to see what words everyone has chosen as their motivational word for the year and why!

It’s Monday – give it all you’ve got and have a great day!
♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “Fitness/Exercise Goals for 2012”

  1. Robin January 17, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    I have one of the same goals this year. One of the cancer support centres close to where I get treated offers exercise programs for cancer patients, where you get evaluated and they tailor an exercise program just for you (for free!). Maybe you can check around your city to see if that’s offered? I know it helps me to have that rigid schedule to attend – I would slack off eventually!! :-)

    • rachturner January 18, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      Good for you, Robin! You will feel so good when you get into an exercise program and begin to gain your strength back. Having a program designed specifically for you is even better!

Leave a Reply

