How Do You Pray?

13 Jan

Yesterday was a good day, probably a solid 8 most of the day with the exception of the fatigue that arrives every afternoon.  Can’t really complain about anything at this point.  :)

Recently, I’ve found myself praying more often and more fervently than in the past.  Can’t imagine why, huh?

Source: Pinterest

I’m currently working through Kay Arthur’s Lord, Teach Me to Pray study and it’s got me thinking about this subject quite a bit lately.  I don’t feel like I pray as much, as consistently, or as well as I should.  So I’m trying to change that.  No, I take that back.  I am changing that.  I feel this need to be more regimented in my prayer life, to be more intentional I guess would be the best word, to put some structure to it.  But I don’t want it to become something I do without thought or feeling.  I want it to be meaningful, not just regimented.

I’ve always been curious how and where other people pray, how often they pray, and what they do when they pray.

So, today, I have questions for you!  This is going to require that you actually respond.  :)  Love you guys and the fact that you read, but I really would love to hear your thoughts on this subject, so please leave me a comment so I can learn from you.  Remember, my year is all about about GROW.  I can’t grow if I don’t learn.  And I can’t learn if you won’t share.  Maybe I can guilt you into commenting!  :)

  • How do you remember everything/everyone you want to pray for?
  • What motivates you to pray?
  • Do you have techniques that you use or a standard process that you follow when praying or do you just pray, letting whatever comes to mind flow out of your heart?
  • Do you pray all day long, in the car, while you’re at work, whenever someone comes to mind?  Or do you have a set time each day that you pray and once you’ve prayed, you’re done?
  • Where do you pray?
  • Do you pray privately or with your spouse or both?

I’m really curious and would love to know how you all pray and if there are issues questions that you, too, face in your prayer life.  Please share any other thoughts on prayer that you have with me (and the other million readers of this blog – ha ha!).  I know you guys are prayers based on the work you’ve been doing for me, so come on – speak up.

♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “How Do You Pray?”

  1. IamSimplyTia January 13, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    I’m so happy you had a good day!!!

    1. How do you remember everything/everyone you want to pray for? – I don’t remember it all at the devoted prayer time but as soon as I do I make sure to talk to God. Whether I’m in the shower, in the kitchen, sitting in the couch, I just raise my hand to the sky and pray.

    2. What motivates you to pray? – My prayers are usually mostly of thanksgiving. I am always thanking God for his mercies and his blessings and the simple things like sight, hearing, the ability to walk etc, makes me want to just shout out and thank God…ALWAYS. I also pray when I feel hopeless in a situation. It always gives me the peace and reassurance I need.

    3. Do you pray privately or with your spouse or both? – Both. Every Sunday morning, my hubby and I have “devotion”. We read a chapter from the Bible. Then we lift up the lord in worship and then we present our requests before him. But I also do this on my own every day.

    • rachturner January 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      Thank you, Tia! Love your thoughts on prayer – thanks for sharing. I like that you and your husband pray together once a week – I think that is precious and probably provides a special glue for your relationship that you may not even know is there.

  2. mainelyhopeful January 13, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    ◦How do you remember everything/everyone you want to pray for? I don’t count on remembering, I pray when I feel the need/inspiration
    ◦What motivates you to pray? Sometimes just habit (when I wake up and before I go to sleep); when asked to remember someone in prayer, gratitude, fear (especially now)
    ◦Do you have techniques that you use or a standard process that you follow when praying or do you just pray, letting whatever comes to mind flow out of your heart? I recite the prayers I learned from childhood, but mostly just what comes to mind.
    ◦Do you pray all day long, in the car, while you’re at work, whenever someone comes to mind? Or do you have a set time each day that you pray and once you’ve prayed, you’re done? Anytime, anywhere
    ◦Where do you pray? See above :)
    ◦Do you pray privately or with your spouse or both? Privately

    • rachturner January 13, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Thank you for commenting! I can absolutely relate to your prayers out of fear right now, but I am praying with you that chemotherapy will be successful and you will be healed of this cancer!

  3. Pat Vandercook January 13, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    My husband and I have a cancer prayer ministry. We pray every morning together for our folks ( you are one). I try to pray constantly though out the day – when a name pops into my head, a person cuts in front of me in traffic(first for my attitude then for them), etc. I am better some days than others. I have aquiet time in the afternnon with my Bible study.
    Needless to say, these are best case senarios – unfortunately not always consistent activities.

    • rachturner January 13, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Hi Pat! Your prayers and cards have been such an encouragement to me! Thanks for your feedback. It’s fascinating to me to learn how others approach prayer. You and Charles are a blessing to so many people through the cancer prayer ministry!!

  4. Robin January 13, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I’m a little opposite from you – I actually prayed less. But not out of rebellion or being downcast; it was actually a calm feeling that just told me, “God knows.” That being said though, this year I have to make an effort because my usual prayer network (my gospel choir) is on hiatus…

    I try to pray in the moment. If someone comes to mind, I pray immediately. If I realize a need, I pray. If I see God’s greatness in some way, I praise. That way I don’t have to rely on memory LOL.

    • rachturner January 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Robin – HOW interesting that you prayed less after finding out you had cancer! I will say that I agree with you in that I’ve not felt a panic or ever doubted that He was in control. My prayers have not been begging for my life, but more like – Lord, make me strong enough to handle this. That’s good that you pray in the moment because you know with us cancer patients – our memories are terrible! ha ha! :)

  5. Sheila White January 13, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    My prayer life is not what it should be, but I do pray everyday. I ask the Lord for small things as well as large. I also sometimes just say thank you. I pray while driving, while cleaning, when I’m at home by myself I just talk to the Lord out loud as if He’s in the room, and He is you know. When someone comes to mind, I pray for them. I haven’t always done that but I feel the Lord puts someone in your heart for a reason. If someone asks me to pray for them, I do and oftentimes immediartely. I also write down prayer requests from time to time. There is no wrong or right way to pray, it’s simply talking to God. Tom and I pray about everything from purchases large and small, for our family and friends, and so much more. I’m a firm believer in prayer and it truly changes things.

    I love your posts and thanks for sharing your stories with us, both good and bad. Have a great weekend.

    • rachturner January 15, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Sheila – I completely agree about the Lord placing people on your mind and that you should probably pray for them or call them or something because they came to mind for a reason. You’re a sweet friend and I’m so glad that you found your way to Chattem!

Leave a Reply

