Reading Goals for 2012

3 Jan

Headed back to work this morning.  I could fuss about how awful it is that vacation is over, but I’m truly grateful to work for a company that gives so much time off for the Christmas holiday and to have a job that I love working with people I love even more.

2012 Reading Goals

Since I got a Kindle about a year ago, I’ve been reading a lot more than usual.  Strange that an electronic device would motivate me to read more than the actual, paper books themselves.  I think – and this is just a theory based on my slightly warped sense of thinking – that I get overwhelmed by the length of books.  When I’m reading a physical book, I can easily see how much more I still have to read.  When I’m reading on the Kindle, I just read until I’m done and as long as I don’t look at the status bar on the bottom of the screen, I have no idea how much more I have left to read.  I just focus on the content and not the quantity of the content.  I don’t know it makes a difference, but I think it does for me.  That’s just my theory.  :)

Anyway, the Kindle has prompted me to read much more than I have in the past and I’m beginning to understand how crucial reading is to growth.  And grow is my word for 2012!  That’s why the Bible is on my daily reading list.  Without a strong Biblical foundation, I don’t think anything else I read will have much of an effect on me.  It’s all about priorities, right?

I’m planning to read 26 books in 2012.  That’s one book every two weeks.  It’s important to take a long-term goal and come up with a plan for accomplishing it.  If I just say I’m going to read 26 books in 2012, I might not start reading anything until October (because I’m a procrastinator) and I would be hard pressed to achieve my goal for the year.  So, I know by the end of January I need to have completed two books from my list, and then read a book every two weeks for the rest of the year.

These are the 26 books I’m planning to read in 2012 broken out into specific categories because I want to be intentional about reading books in different categories and not just focus on the type of books that I like to read the most, which for me are either Personal Growth or Spiritual books.

Personal Growth/Motivation

  1. Today Matters by John Maxwell
  2. Anything You Want by Derek Sivers
  3. StrengthsFinder 2.0 by Tom Rath
  4. The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale
  5. Quitter by Jon Acuff
  6. The Tipping Point by Malcom Gladwell
  7. Write it Down, Make it Happen by Henriette Anne Klauser
  8. Thinking for a Change: 11 Ways Highly Successful People Approach Life and Work by John Maxwell

Marriage

  1. Love and Respect by Emerson Eggerichs
  2. The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian
  3. L.O.V.E.: Putting Your Love Styles To Work for You by Les Parrott
  4. The Marriage You’ve Always Wanted by Gary Chapman

Spiritual/Faith Based

  1. What Happens When Women Say Yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst Finished
  2. So Long Insecurity by Beth Moore
  3. Life Interrupted by Priscilla Shirer
  4. Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst
  5. Plan B: What to Do When God Doesn’t Show Up the Way You Thought He Would by Pete Wilson
  6. A Confident Heart by Renee Swope
  7. Grace for the Good Girl by Emily Freeman
  8. Jesus Calling by Sarah Young (Daily Devotional)

Professional

  1. Mastering CSS for Web Developers by Smashing Magazine
  2. Build Mobile Websites and Apps for Smart Devices by Castledine, Eftos, and Wheeler
  3. 48 Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller
  4. HTML 5 & CSS 3 for the Real World by Goldstein, Lazarus, and Weil
  5. The Energy Bus by Jon Gordon
  6. A Whack on the Side of the Head: How You Can Be More Creative by Roger von Oech

Do you have any recommendations I should add to my list?  I could be convinced to replace one of the above or squeeze in another one with a strong recommendation about a book you loved!

Happy Tuesday!
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Reading Goals for 2012”

  1. Nancy Arrighi January 3, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    When I was going through my chemo, my mother-in-law was my chemo buddy. She went with me to every treatment. We started every treatment with her reading a chapter from Psalms to me which would calm me down and give me a peace. We would take our books to read (which we always ended up talking instead of reading). Anyway, she got me hooked on Christian novels and now I don’t read anything else. The best was written by Jenny B. Jones. She is very funny and we needed something to laugh at during that time. She has a series called the Katie Parker series that make you laugh out loud. I am so thankful for my mother-in-law and for Jenny B Jones making me laugh during a time that wasn’t so funny. Hope you are doing well.

    • rachturner January 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      Hi Nancy – I’m so glad you had your mother-in-law with you during treatment. It makes all the difference having someone there by your side. It’s very comforting to have Barry with me each time.

  2. Jennifer January 3, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Yes, I have a recommendation – try reading something just for fun – a story – those are all very heavy self -improvement books. Racing in the Rain, The 5 People You Meet in Heaven, Water for Elephants, Sarah’s Key’s, The Secret Life of Bees, The Help, Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Society, Glass Castle, etc.

    Go a little easy on yourself and maybe one or two books just for enjoyment, you goof.

    Love you to pieces.
    Jennifer

    • rachturner January 3, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      I can totally hear you saying “you goof” in my head. :) The Help is actually on my want to read list, so maybe I’ll add it. I’m not good at reading just for fun – I feel like I’m wasting time. ha ha! Love you back.

  3. Kathy January 4, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    I’m like you…I can totally hear Jenn saying “you goof”! Bethcha it started with the boys when they were little, huh.

    How on earth can you ever narrow it down to just this list. I could never get that done. Kind of like I can’t seem to narrow this year down to just 1 word, like you were mentioning in an earlier posting. I tried that and one day it was one word and today it’s another word, haha.

    If you want a really good, heartwarming and uplifting romance (as Jenn says, read something just for the fun of it)…try “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers. She’s a Christian author and this was such a “redeeming” book that I was useless to get anything else done until I finished it. I love it when a book is so good that you simply can not put it down. To me, that means it’s really speaking to you.

    Love you beyond measure, Kathy

    • rachturner January 5, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      K – I think I’ve heard you mention Redeeming Love before. I’ll have to add it to the list for some lighter reading. Love YOU beyond measure.

Leave a Reply

