Do You Have a Word for the Year?

2 Jan

Today’s my last day of vacation, then it’s back to work tomorrow.  But only for a day.  I have chemo on Wednesday and Thursday, so it’s like a vacation extension.  Except this extension is the kind where you get a flat tire on the first day, your hotel room is surrounded by loud teenagers so you don’t get decent rest, and then something you eat gives you food poisoning!  Ha ha!!  Not exactly a fun extension, but a necessary one.

One of my favorite blog authors (Suzanne Eller) suggested selecting a word for the year – a word that defines what you hope and plan to accomplish, what you will pray for, a word that sums up what you would like the next year to be about.  In addition, there is also a site: oneword365.com that encourages selecting one word for the year instead of a long list of resolutions you are not likely to keep for the entire year.  The word can be any word – oh, the choices!  ANY word?  How do you possibly choose one word to define a year??  It’s almost too many choices if you ask me.  I don’t know about you, but I can be easily overwhelmed by choices.  If you go to Baskin Robbins and they ask you what flavor you would like, sometimes I can’t decide!  I mean, they have 31 flavors and all – that’s just too many to choose from.  :)

But, I digress.  Back to the word for the year.  I’ve been thinking about this and praying for the word that would be right for me in 2012 and I believe that word is

When I get to the end of 2012, I want to reflect back on the year and see that I have grown spiritually, physically, mentally, relationally, and professionally.  I don’t want to be the same person I am today – I want to be better.  I want to learn as much as I can and add value to other’s lives.  I want to be different inside, I want my heart, mind and soul to grow.

This word is helping me refine my goals for the year because I am running them all through the filter of grow.  As I’m finalizing my goals, I’m asking this question:

Will accomplishing this goal help me grow spiritually, physically, mentally, relationally or professionally?

If not, it’s probably a goal I don’t need to pursue.

Have you ever selected a word for the year?  Do you have one for this year?  Share!  I’d love to know what you will be focusing on this year.

I hope your first week of 2012 is wonderful!
♥ Rachel

The Lettered Cottage
8 Responses to “Do You Have a Word for the Year?”

  1. jlcoop75@gmail.com January 2, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    How about “change”? Similar to grow…I hope to change the things I don’t like about myself and continue to change / improve the things I do.

    • rachturner January 3, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      JC – Change is a great word of the year – it’s so positive and implies movement, progress, and newness – I like it!

  2. Jim Fugate January 2, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Hi! Rachael: When I saw you mention Baskin Robbins, it reminded me that every time I go in I ask “Do you have vanilla ice cream?” You would love the looks I get!

    I like your word for the year: GROW. It fits you exactly with what you’ve been through. I have not given thought to a word for myself but will do so. Thanks for suggesting it!

    I trust the Lord gives you a great 2012 and that you GROW in Him!

    Jim Fugate in West Virginia

    • rachturner January 3, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      You’re so funny, Jim! I’ve never met you in person, but I can totally see you going in Baskin Robbins asking for vanilla. ha ha! Come back and tell me what word you’ve selected after you’ve given it some thought. :)

  3. Suzie Eller (Suzanne) January 4, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I love that you linked to my blog and I loved your post! Thank you. It’s always nice to meet a new friend. : )

    • rachturner January 5, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      Hi Suzie – Thanks for commenting. I’ve received so much encouragement from your blog and just loved the idea of selecting a word for the coming year. It will help keep me focused when my attention starts to drift to other things. Happy New Year to you and your family!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reading Goals for 2012 « Blessings in Disguise - January 3, 2012

    […] in the past and I’m beginning to understand how crucial reading is to growth.  And grow is my word for 2012!  That’s why the Bible is on my daily reading list.  Without a strong Biblical foundation, […]

  2. How Do You Pray? « Blessings in Disguise - January 13, 2012

    […] subject, so please leave me a comment so I can learn from you.  Remember, my year is allow about GROW.  I can’t grow if I don’t learn.  And I can’t learn if you won’t share. […]

Leave a Reply

