Two Thousand Twelve

30 Dec

2012 is fast approaching!  Yippee!!  This will be the last time we “talk” before the new year and I want to wish you all a very safe, happy, and fun New Year’s Eve and Day!

Do you have big plans for New Year’s weekend?  The only thing I know for sure that I am doing is eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day.  I didn’t eat black-eyed peas last year.  You all know about the old wives tale that says eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day brings you luck.  Given the year my family had in 2011, I’m not going to push my luck – I’m eaten’ some peas!  :)

As far as New Year’s Eve goes, I will most likely be ringing in the new year in my dreams.  This chick starts to fade around 10:30 pm, so making it to midnight is not likely to happen.  Good thing is, the New Year is not dependent on me staying awake to see it come in!  ha ha!

An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in.
A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.
Bill Vaughan

On second thought, maybe I should stay up just to make sure the old year leaves??  :)

As I close out this year, I feel that it is extremely important for me to try to express to you how very much I appreciate each and every one who has taken the time to read this blog and whisper a prayer for me.  2011 has been a year of the deepest lows, but I (and my family) have been SO blessed your prayers, encouragement, and support through this cancer journey.  It has also been a blessing to make some wonderful new friends from all over the world through this little blog thing here.  Who knew??  So, to all of you, I wish you a year full of blessings and peace in your heart.

And, just in case you were wondering, this is how Pumpkin will be ringing in the New Year:

Pretty much like he does every other day of the year – napping under my desk, paw tucked beneath his upside down head, tail tucked between his back legs, and making cute little sleeping kitty sounds.

With much love for you and hope for a wonderful 2012,
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Two Thousand Twelve”

  1. Becky Robinson December 30, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    Wishing you a Happy New Years. Love and prayers coming your way each day.
    Becky

  2. IamSimplyTia December 30, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    2012 is going to be awesome for you Rachel! I will continue to read and share your journey and I wish you nothing but the best!!

    HAPPPYYYYYYY NEW YEAR!!!!

    *Hugs*

    • rachturner December 30, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      Thanks so much, Tia! You have been such an encouragement to me! Have a very Happy New Year!

  3. Robin December 30, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Happy New Year! I hope you have a great day, and I’m so excited for you to be done chemo :-)

    • rachturner December 31, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

      Hey Robin! Thank you and Happy New Year to you, too!! 2012 is going to be a great year for us, right? :)

Leave a Reply

