Spiritual Goals for 2012

28 Dec

I am feeling very good this week and am enjoying some time off from work for the holidays.  Today begins week 4 of this cycle so it should be my best week of the month.  I’ll be going this morning for my weekly labs and then am scheduled for treatment #6 next Wednesday and Thursday.

I’ve not been a goals person in the past, but I’m changing that in 2012.  Actually, we (Barry and I) are changing that next year.  We are defining individual goals as well as goals for our family.  We both have been doing a lot of reading about the importance of goals and goal setting and how, if you want to truly do something, you need to define a goal, write it down, and create a plan for accomplishing it.

One thing I’ve learned (or realized) this year is that I don’t want to float through life.  I don’t want to be on cruise control, idly going wherever life takes me.  Life is short.  Ridiculously short.  And I want to make the most of the time I’ve been given.  It’s time for me to be intentional about some areas of my life and setting goals (with plans of action) will help me do just that.

I haven’t defined all of my goals yet, but for 2012, I plan to have goals in several categories:

  • Spiritual
  • Physical/Health
  • Personal Growth
  • Marriage
  • Family/Relationships
  • Professional
  • Financial
These categories may change a bit as my goals become more clearly defined, but these are the ones I’m starting with.  Today, I’m going to share with you three of my spiritual goals for 2012.
  1. Have a consistent prayer/Bible time each morning for 30 minutes.  The key here for me is to establish a time each morning when I will do this.  I have to do this before my day gets started or I won’t do it.  30 minutes may not seem like a lot of time (or it may seem like a huge commitment to some), but it’s a large commitment for someone (like me) who has historically been inconsistent in doing this.  I don’t believe this is something that I do haphazardly and have any success with it.  I certainly can’t wait until the end of the day to do it because there will always be a reason not to – I’m too tired, busy, etc., so the morning it is!
  2. Read the following books of the Bible:
    January
    – Proverbs
    February – James (along with Beth Moore’s James: Mercy Triumphs Bible study)
    March thru July – Psalms
    August – Job
    September – 1 and 2 Corinthians
    October – Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 & 2 Thessalonians
    November – 1 & 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews
    December – Matthew
    The reason I’m not doing a “read the Bible through in a year” plan is because I know myself and I know that I wouldn’t absorb what I was reading.  I would be reading quickly, sometimes skimming chapters, just to get it checked off my list.  The monthly schedule above works out to about a chapter a day, which for me is doable, but still a stretch because I’ve not been consistent with my readings in the past.
  3. Memorize two Bible verses each month.  This is something Barry and I are doing together.  We originally talked about a verse a week, but felt that was a little ambitious and want to make sure we are able to retain what we are learning.  At the end of the year, we will be able to recite 24 verses to each other.  (As long as Chemo Brain doesn’t interfere!  ha ha!!)

When deciding on goals, it helps to have a larger purpose or vision in mind.  I can pick things out of the air that I would like to do, but I am more likely to stick with them if I am working with a purpose of accomplishing something bigger.  For my spiritual goals, the bigger picture is that I want to have a greater understanding of God’s Word and a deeper relationship with Him.  This is the primary reason why I have set the three specific goals mentioned above.

I found these two blog posts from Michael Hyatt to be very helpful in thinking about and developing my goals: 5 Reasons Why You Should Commit Your Goals to Writing and 7 Reasons Why You Need a Written Life Plan.

In addition, Darren Hardy has several downloadable worksheets that you can use to determine your core values, assess your daily habits, and design specific long and short-term goals.  You can find these worksheets at his Compound Effect site.

♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Spiritual Goals for 2012”

  1. IamSimplyTia December 28, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    These are good plans so far. You’ve inspired me to do the same with my husband. I’ll be setting some serious but attainable goals for 2012 this week. Thanks!

    • rachturner December 28, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Tia – That’s awesome! Serious, but attainable – that’s the key. Stretch yourself, but don’t make them unrealistic. Good luck!!

  2. Sarah December 28, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    I need to burn a CD for you! It’s called Seeds of Courage and it is basically scripture set to music! I don’t know if you are anything like me, but I have the hardest time memorizing scripture BUT I can learn a song in no time! I’ve memorized about 6 sets of verses just listening sporatically for two months or so! It’s a kids thing but it’s not super cheesy (just a little cheesy). :)

    • rachturner December 28, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Sarah – I can handle a little “cheese.” Would love one of those CDs.

  3. nancysheys12 September 4, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    Here I am in the middle of 2013 and just trying to establish my spiritual goals. I am old, almost 73, but feel that it’s never, never too late. I have been sick with pneumonia, shingles, drug reaction and some degenerative bones. I’ve come to realize that when I am laid up, I don’t want to read scripture. But, if I have it in my mind and heart, I can call upon God’s Word. Thank you so much for you tips. Blessings!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Solid 5 « Blessings in Disguise - January 10, 2012

    […] woke yesterday morning and sat down for my quiet time.  Remember, that’s one of my spiritual goals for the year?  Can’t slack off, even on bad days because that’s when I need it the […]

Leave a Reply

