Time to Move On

26 Dec

We had a very nice Christmas on Christmas Eve with our girls and their husbands and Barry’s parents.  It was not our original plan and was thrown together rather quickly, but this in itself turned out to be a blessing in disguise because I woke up Christmas morning feeling fair and within an hour was very sick.  My mother-in-law had prepared a breakfast feast (ham, bacon, biscuits, gravy, sausage roll, and homemade cinnamon rolls).  I’m probably missing something because there was so much!  I made a hash brown casserole and fruit salad.  I was able to eat a few bites of scrambled eggs, a couple of bites of fruit and one bite of biscuit before getting sick again.

I came home, took a two hour nap and gradually felt better throughout the day.  Not an ideal Christmas day, but pretty typical for this year I would say.  :)  AND while I was napping, Barry put away almost all of the Christmas decorations for me.  THAT, in itself, was a Christmas gift!

Anyway, I’m feeling much better today.

Christmas is over, the decorations are put away, and it’s time to turn our attention to 2012.  I don’t know about you guys, but I am ready for a NEW year.  This one has been a wee bit challenging.  I’m sure it’s been that way for many of you, too.

What are you looking forward to the most in the coming year?

I’m looking forward to putting the last of six primary chemo treatments behind me next week, starting maintenance chemo, and getting on with my life.  I’m also looking forward to working toward some goals that I’ve set for myself. I’ve never been a goals person, but I feel the need to establish some for next year and concentrate on meeting them.  If I’ve learned anything this year, it’s that life is precious and much too short.  I don’t want my days to slip away while I sit here thinking, “there’s always tomorrow.”  Tomorrow is not guaranteed – today is all we have.  Let’s make the most of it!

I’m hoping and praying that you had a beautiful Christmas and that you are able to get ready for a FABULOUS new year this week.

♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Time to Move On”

  1. Sarah December 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I’m starting goals again too! Monthly ones ate great because in 30 days you get to start fresh instead of getting to the end of the year and realizing that you didn’t accomplish your resolutions. My big three that will be on each month are to be more diligent about reading the Word, doing some form of fitness several times a week, and reading more!! Love you Rach! Thanks for being an amazing friend and inspiration to all who come in contact with you!!

    • rachturner December 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      Glad you are starting your goals again – you are one of the people who motivated me to get on the bandwagon this year! Happy New Year sweet friend! Love ya!!

  2. Jim Fugate December 26, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Hi! Rachael:

    I’m glad you had a good Christmas and sorry about the upset with food. Hopefully this will change as you get better. When it does ENJOY THAT KIND OF BREAKFAST AGAIN!

    I was reminded of the first house my wife and I bought in Huntington, WV. The first Christmas in that house (1970) was a story-and-a-half home in which the upstairs was a finished large room which became a spare bedroom on one end and my office as a campus minister at the other.

    On the main floor the living room and dining room were almost like one room–connected by an arch passage way. We put the Christmas tree against the lower arch on one side and we had to walk around the tree to get anywhere—to eat, go to the kitchen, etc.

    I’ll never forget: On Christmas Day when we opened out gifts–we had only one son at that time–afterwards I said: “Well, it’s time to take down the tree! I’ve been walking around it far too long!” Susie couldn’t believe I wanted to do that and she cried. Every year since–except this year when she passed away in April–I heard: “Are we going to leave the Christmas tree up longer than just Christmas Day?” Ha!

    I will look forward to hearing additional news of your healing and getting on with your life!

    Blessings and prayers…Jim Fugate in West Virginia

    • rachturner December 28, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Jim – I love that story about the Christmas tree! I’m glad you have good memories like that to make you smile and even chuckle a little. Thank you for your prayers. I hope you are especially blessed in 2012 because you have blessed me tremendously this year!

Leave a Reply

