More Christmas Recipes – Cakes & Pies

21 Dec

I felt good yesterday.  No more heart palpitations – yay!!  I have more fatigue at this point (finishing my 2nd week since treatment) than I have in the past, but I keep reminding myself that I had 1) a neulasta injection and 2) a port insertion since the last treatment, too.  Fatigue has become quote the loyal companion.  I wouldn’t mind if it weren’t so loyal and went away every now and then.  :)

Here are three of my favorite cake and pie recipes for the holidays.

The first is my mom’s 3-Day Sour Cream Coconut Cake that I just love.  LOVE!  You can taste the gritty sugar in the frosting along with the cake and to me, there is nothing better that tasting gritty sugar!  :)  It tastes better the longer it sits in the fridge, so if you are planning to make this for Christmas, you better run to the grocery store now and get your ingredients!  Why are you still sitting here reading?  Go!  :)

3-Day Sour Cream Coconut Cake

Cake
1 butter recipe cake mix

Bake cake mix by directions on box. Pour batter into 2 round or square cake pans. While cake is hot, divide into 4 layers and frost each layer with frosting.

Frosting
2 cups sugar
1 (16 ounce) container sour cream
16 ounces of coconut

Heat sour cream and sugar on stove. Add coconut and blend well. Spread on cake layers. Let sit for 2 to 3 days, refrigerated. The longer it sits, the better it tastes!


Source: MyRecipes.com

My mother-in-law makes a delicious coca-cola cake.  It’s always perfectly moist and she can whip one of these up in no time flat!  Me?  It takes me a little longer.  I’m a slow baker.  I think this particular recipe comes from Southern Living – the cooking Bible for all good Southerners.  :)

Coca Cola Cake

1 cup Coca-Cola
½ cup buttermilk
1½ cups miniature marshmallows
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
1¾ cups sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
Coca-Cola Frosting (see recipe below)

Combine Coca-Cola and buttermilk in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Lower heat and add marshmallows. Stir until marshmallows are dissolved. Remove from heat. Beat butter at low speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Gradually add sugar; beat until blended. Add egg and vanilla; beat at low speed until blended. Combine flour, cocoa, and soda. Add to butter mixture alternately with cola mixture; begin and end with flour mixture. Beat at low speed just until blended. Add Coca-Cola, buttermilk, marshmallow mixture and blend well. Pour batter into a greased and floured 13 x 9-inch pan. Bake at 350° for 30 to 35 minutes. Remove from oven; cool 10 minutes. Pour Coca-Cola Frosting over warm cake; garnish, if desired.

Coca Cola Frosting

½ cup butter or margarine
⅓ cup Coca-Cola
3 tablespoons cocoa
1 (16 ounce) package powdered sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Garnish: ¾ cup chopped pecans, toasted (optional)

Bring first 3 ingredients to a boil in a large saucepan over medium heat, stirring until butter melts. Remove from heat; whisk in sugar and vanilla. Pour over warm cake. Sprinkle with chopped, toasted pecans.


This is one of those recipes that we always had on the dessert table at my grandmother or great-grandmother’s house when I was growing up.  I love chess pie because it reminds me of those times and all the wonderful memories.  What I wouldn’t give for one more Christmas with all of them…..

Ironically, I rarely eat it and never make it for myself.  But I don’t make many pies.  In my mind, they seem difficult, even though I know they are often easier to make than cakes.  Weird, I know.

This particular recipe came from my aunt Frances.

Chess Pie

½ cup (1 stick) butter at room temperature
1 ½ cups sugar
3 whole eggs
1 teaspoon vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cornmeal
Mix butter (room temperature) with sugar, add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Pour in unbaked pie crust.  Bake at 350° for 45 minutes until brown.

Happy Baking!  It’s Wednesday and I hope it’s a wonderful one for you!

♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “More Christmas Recipes – Cakes & Pies”

  1. friendlymedia01 December 21, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    Yummy cake…Thanks for sharing this recipe…

  2. IamSimplyTia December 21, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Glad there are no more heart palpitations.

    I think I like the Coca Cola cake! Thanks for sharing.

    I hope that 2012 will bring you peace, good health and happiness. Happy Holidays!

    • rachturner December 21, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      Thanks, Tia! I wish you the very same for 2012!!

Leave a Reply

