Bread and Blueberry

20 Dec

Yesterday was an interesting day.  I had a couple of brief episodes of heart palpitations and then what felt like a hard pounding for a few seconds.  I was also feeling some pressure in the center of my chest that seemed unusual.  Since I just had the port put in place on Thursday, I wondered if it could be a complication from that.  I called the doctor’s office around 2:30 and by 3:15, they had returned my call and I was on my way to their office to be evaluated.  At least they take my concerns seriously!  ha ha!

They checked my vitals which were all good.  My blood pressure was a little lower than usual, but not alarmingly low.  Just to be on the safe side, the doctor sent me for a port dye scan (to make sure the port was working properly) and an EKG to make sure my heart rhythm was normal.  The scan came back great and I think the EKG is fine – it wasn’t alarming enough to keep me, so I’m going with fine.  :)

With Christmas arriving in just six short days, I thought I would share some of my favorite recipes for family gatherings the rest of this week.  Maybe you’ll find one that you’ll want to include in your family’s holiday meal this year!

This one is great for brunch, but also makes a delicious dessert – especially if served warm and topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.  But, really, what isn’t good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on it?

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

Bread and Blueberry

I got this recipe from my sister, Jennifer.  This is what she has to say about it:

This recipe comes from a Bed and Breakfast in Cape May, New Jersey where we used to stay. It is pure delight. There is no one that I have ever served it to who hasn’t gone back for seconds. Men especially like it. You can make it the night before and cook the morning of your breakfast so that makes it even better. It is a no fail recipe.

Sounds good, huh?  I LOVE this recipe.  You can adjust the amount of bread or blueberries to suit your taste.  You can even eat all the bread tossed in butter and sugar and cinnamon before you bake it because it is that yummy!  But I would never do that.  :)

Ingredients

2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)
¼ cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons lemon juice
4 cups bread cubes, day old French bread
½ cup brown sugar
¾ cup butter, melted

Directions

Toss bread cubes with butter, sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle berries with lemon juice and brown sugar. Spread alternate layers of bread cubes and berry mix in baking dish. Spread evenly.

Bake in 350° oven for 30 minutes.

Serve warm or cold; plain or topped with cream or whipped cream.

Yum!  Enjoy and have a beautiful Tuesday!

♥ Rachel

3 Responses to “Bread and Blueberry”

  1. Patty December 20, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Some Lemon Bars would be really good right about now!!! Hope you are feeling better and I am glad you called the doctor… best to be safe! Love you and have a Merry Christmas!

    • rachturner December 20, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      If I were there, I would make you a HUGE batch of lemon bars. :)

  2. Jim Fugate December 20, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Thanks for the recipe of blueberries. I will definitely try it!

    Jim Fugate of West Virginia

Leave a Reply

