The Pioneer Woman’s Pear Crisp

19 Dec

I felt pretty good this weekend, probably my best days since the last treatment.  The port area is still very sore, but seems to be getting better each day.  I have a lovely 2-inch scar that looks pretty wicked right now but hopefully will heal to something not quite so awful, plus an unusual bump just below my left collar bone that seems somewhat like an alien inside of me.  I couldn’t look at “the bump” for the first few days – made me queasy.  I can look at it now, and even touch it, but touching it is strange because I can feel the device just beneath the skin.  It’s so weird!

I’m going to tell you something that may shock you, especially if you know me very well.  I cooked dinner last night AND made dessert.  Please try not to faint.  :)  I so rarely cook these days, but as easy as it is to eat out, you can only do it so much before you get sick of it.  Sometimes you just want to cook and eat at home.

The dessert I made was The Pioneer Woman’s Pear Crisp.  If you’re not familiar with The Pioneer Woman, you should check her out.  She’s funny, makes some great food, and lives a fascinating life that she chronicles on her blog, ThePioneerWoman.com.

Here’s how my Pear Crisp turned out.  Please do not compare the photography to The Pioneer Woman’s.  :)

It was very good.  It probably would have been extra tasty with a little (or big) scoop of ice cream, but we skipped it.  The pears are much juicier than apples, so the crisp was a little on the runny side, but thickened up as it cooled.

If you want to try it, the recipe can be found at her website: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/10/pear-crisp-with-vanilla-ice-cream/.

It’s been while since Pumpkin has appeared on the blog and he wanted to say hi to everyone and wish you all a Merry Christmas.  Can’t you just see him thinking those things??  Yeah, me neither.  ha ha

Have a wonderful Monday!  You’ve only got one more Monday in 2011 and for many of us it’s our last one at work, so let’s make it a good one.

♥ Rachel

3 Responses to “The Pioneer Woman’s Pear Crisp”

  1. IamSimplyTia December 19, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Your pear crisp looks delicious!

    All the best on your journey. I wish you health, strength and happiness….and healing! Stay strong!

  2. Diana Hunsaker December 19, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Yummy! What did you cook for dinner? Is it easy enough for me to cook? ;~)

Leave a Reply

