Port Day

15 Dec

No, I’m not a talking about arriving in port today, although it would be nice if I were on a cruise and just arriving at some exotic port location.  Bet that would be a lot more fun than what I’m doing today.

Today’s the day I get my portacath.  Ooohhhhhh, the excitement!!

You all know the drill:  No food or drink since midnight.  No makeup.  No contact lenses.  Yep, loads of fun.  :)

But, at some point this morning, I will be given some lovely drugs and will drift off into a very brief, but blissful sleep where I will forget that my head hurts and I will forget that I’m nauseous.  That will be a lovely, lovely time.

And then, when I wake up, I’ll have a port and the days of painful arm sticks are over!  Yay!!

Today is the LAST DAY to enter the Southern Plate cookbook giveaway.  I’m so proud of you guys for no longer lurking in the shadows and actually leaving comments.  It only took bribery to get you to do it.  ha ha!  If you are one of the super-duper procrastinators (like I can sometimes be), you better get moving because after 8:00 PM EST tonight – no more chances to win.

I’ll announce the winner Friday morning and get your cookbook shipped ASAP!

Since this week has been all about cancer and yuck (with a little fun giveaway thrown in), I thought we could use some eye candy today to put us in the Christmas Spirit with some beautiful Christmas photography I found on Pinterest.  Yep, it’s a sure sign that I am feeling somewhat better if I’m back on Pinterest.  For some reason, when I feel really awful, I can’t go on there – it makes me feel worse.  Weird, I know, but it does.

Enjoy!  And don’t forget to enter to win the Southern Plate cookbook!

♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “Port Day”

  1. Becky Robinson December 15, 2011 at 5:45 am #

    Beautiful photographs. Good luck today. Enjoy your drugged sleep. Praying for you and glad you are getting the port.

    Love,
    Becky

    • rachturner December 15, 2011 at 8:43 am #

      Thanks, Becky. I’m feeling better this morning, so definitely making a turn toward improvement. Love you!

  2. The Savvy Sister December 15, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Hope all goes well today!

  3. Diana Hunsaker December 15, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Praying that the headache and nausea go away when you wake up!

Leave a Reply

