Neulasta Ain’t for Sissies

12 Dec

And that is no lie.  :)

No. 5 may be in the history books, but the effects of it are still being felt…with force.

I promised to be honest with you all, so here’s the truth: this weekend kicked my rear end.

This cycle has been the toughest one I’ve had yet.  This is largely in part to the Neulasta injection I received on Friday to boost my white count.  I’m pretty sure my bone marrow is working overtime cranking out white cells based on how much my bones are aching.  The aching came on gradually Friday evening, and then hit really strong Saturday and Sunday.  The bad news is that because I’m having a port put in on Thursday, I can’t take anything like ibuprofen or advil for the pain because it can thin my blood.  And Tylenol is not the wonder drug they advertise it to be.  :)

Because of this tough weekend, I have very little to offer to offer you today on this here blog.  BUT, I do want to encourage you to come back tomorrow because I will be having a giveaway to celebrate my 100th blog post!  And who doesn’t love a free gift, especially at Christmas time??

♥ Rachel

7 Responses to “Neulasta Ain’t for Sissies”

  1. Becky Robinson December 12, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Sorry you are having such a hard time. Extra prayers being said for you. Love, Becky

  2. Diana Hunsaker December 12, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Praying you have a great week to make up for the weekend!

  3. Julie Kendall December 12, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Oh hon…I’m so sorry your hurting so much. Hurting and being able to take something for it is one thing. But hurting and knowing you have something that could help but you can’t take it is quite another! I’m praying for relief for you right now!

  4. Kathy December 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    I know each and every minute is a challenge for you right now, but hang in there. I love you so much and pray for strength for you and Barry and that each minute gets easier for you.

  5. Jennifer December 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Remember every day is better than the one before. You can do it – hunker down like a Smith girl! You are brave and so very strong. One day at a time and when that doesn’t work – one hour at a time.

    I love you so much. I am so proud of you!
    Jennifer

  6. Susan December 14, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    My first round of Neupogen they wouldn’t let me take anything either. It was awful. I called the oncology nurse in tears asking her what I could do… And she suggested icing it. Right, like I’m going to ice my WHOLE SKELETON. Ugh. Hope it’s feeling better by now xo

    • rachturner December 15, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Susan – I’m not glad to hear that you were in pain, but it is so reassuring to hear that I’m not going crazy. Icing it? Your whole body?? That’s crazy. I knew when the Lortab didn’t touch the pain, I was in trouble. ha ha! Today is a really good day – the pain is almost gone – yay!!

Leave a Reply

