Book Review: One Call Away by Brenda Warner

5 Dec

One Call Away, by Brenda Warner, is the story of Brenda’s struggles and triumphs through a life that left her feeling the next crisis or disaster was just one call away.  Some of her life experiences are hard to fathom; others are similar to what many of us face in our own lives.  In the book, Brenda shares her own personal struggles and how she managed to not only endure them, but to find a life of happiness despite the challenges she faced.

This was a book I really looked forward to reading.  My family has experienced several of those “one call away” moments this year and I thought I would be able to find some nuggets of encouragement in the book.  I was disappointed to find that was not the case.

Let me start by saying that Brenda did not have an easy life, she faced incredible challenges and it appears she does have a strong faith in God.  She may be married to a former football star now and have what many would consider to be a life of comfort; however the road to her current life was pretty bumpy.  It’s certainly not a life I would have wanted to endure and I don’t envy her for the tough places she walked through and the hard decisions she had to make.

That being said, I was a little turned off by what came across as a sense of arrogance and pride that seemed to overshadow her faith in God at times.  I had a tough time relating to her personally because of her “my way or the highway” approach to life.  She is a take-charge kind of person (as a former Marine, that is no surprise), and expects everyone in her life to follow her rules or hit the road.  I just had a hard time connecting with her story, which made reading the book a bit of a chore.

The book was also a bit tediously long – at 368 pages, so it took quite a bit of effort to make myself finish it.  There is an incredible amount of detail provided about Brenda’s early years and first marriage.  To much detail, for my taste.  I think she could have made her point with far fewer words than were used.

To anyone reading this, I’m not saying this book is not worth reading.  I just felt like it was not a good fit for me.  Someone else might pick it up and connect with her, her life story, and her relationship with God in a way that I did not.

If anything, we can all be encouraged by the fact that she overcame some incredible struggles, shows a tremendous amount of love to her family, and is now sharing her success with others.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

