Number 5

30 Nov

These treatments sure do come around fast, don’t they?  :)  Guess that’s a good thing because it means they will be over soon.  In fact, after this week, I will only have ONE more round to go!  Can I get a HALLELUJAH??

We should get the results of last week’s CT scan today when we see Dr. Daniel.  I sure am hoping for good news.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

I feel like a veteran at this now, not the wide-eyed newbie I was four months ago.  I walk into the treatment room and instead of wondering what I should do or where I should sit, I head straight for my area and actually get a little irritated if someone is already sitting in “my seat.”  Must be the Southern Baptist coming out in me – you know how we love “our seats!”  ha ha!!

Four months into treatment, my appointments with the doctor are different now.  I don’t have twenty thousand questions for him each visit, for which I’m sure he is extremely grateful.  Sometimes, I don’t even have to whip out my 3-ring binder of blood tests, CT reports, and other NHL information – we just review things.  The roles have reversed.  He has more questions for me than I have for him at this stage.  It feels like I’m on cruise control, going through the motions with each round.  In the beginning, each visit was different and full of information, things to ponder, and decisions to be made.  Now, the visits are routine and BOY am I grateful for that.  They could be anything but routine if I were having complications, so cruise control is just fine by me.

I would appreciate your prayers this morning.  Even though I know what to expect, I still get a little anxious when they come at me with the needle and those big bags of “juice.”  I try not to think about what’s in them and what all they will be doing inside of me.  Even though the Ativan and Benadryl take the edge off, I still get a little mentally frazzled at first.  Even though I know they are doing good things, I also know they can do some bad things to – such as make me feel horrible for days.

I’m so grateful that I’ve had two really very good weeks leading up to this, so all I have to say this morning is Bring On Number 5!  We’re going to kick this cancer’s booty!  :)

♥ Rachel

9 Responses to “Number 5”

  1. Becky Robinson November 30, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Praying for you and totally understanding. My treatments are this week and, although I don’t get sick and only get good results, I still dread them. I love the people there and they always give me special treatment so my dread is totally insane. I think if is just having to be there for half a day for four days. I am glad they have Gamma and I am not still in a wheel chair a lot of the time. God is good!!

    Hope you get a good report today.

    Love, Becky

    • Kathy November 30, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      Becky,

      You have always been a terrific inspiration to me. You’ll be in my prayers as you take your treatment this week. All these years (dare I say decades!) and you keep plugging right along with your faith and inspiration to others. Thank you for fighting the good fight.

      Love you, Kathy

      • Becky Robinson November 30, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

        Kathy,

        You have always been one of my special girls. Hope you are doing well. Wish I could see you and give you a big hug.

        Love you lots, Becky

      • rachturner November 30, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

        Ditto!

    • rachturner November 30, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Becky – They give you special treatment because you are so special. :) It’s amazing how much progress has been made during the years you’ve been dealing with this. Love you.

  2. Elizabeth Thoms November 30, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Prayers – check. Kick cancer’s butt – check. Love and hugs – always. Hope today goes well.

    • rachturner November 30, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you, sweet friend. Didn’t get to do chemo today because white counts are too low. Will try again next week. CT scan was GREAT, though – kidney looks really good!

  3. Jim Fugate November 30, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I, too, look forward to the end of this nightmare. You’re doing great, Rachael and I admire your courageous spirit. The Lord is with you for sure!

    I look forward to hearing news from you. I will continue praying for you!

    Jim Fugate, West Virginia

    • rachturner November 30, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      Hey Jim! Today was a little disappointing in that my white counts were too low and prevented me from getting treatment. We’ll try again next week and hope they have come back up by then. Good news, though – the CT scan showed that my kidney looks really good! The chemo is working!! :)

Leave a Reply

